A hard-fought 20-14 victory over Widden OB on Saturday saw Avonmouth OBs crowned Western Counties champions, earning the Barracks Lane club promotion to South West 2 next season. Tries from Andy Taylor and Charlie Reynolds gave Avonmouth a 10-7 half time lead. Widen scored early in the second half but further tries from Sam Thompson and Charlie Reynolds saw the Mouth triumph by 20-14 and the celebrations to begin.

Club chairman Steve Leyshon said: “ This is an outstanding achievement for the whole club.
“The fact that we have won so many close matches shows the tremendous team spirit that exists and it epitomises the never-say-die attitude.
“I’m extremely proud of what everyone involved at the club has achieved these last few seasons and to gain promotion in two consecutive campaigns is a reflection of their commitment and attitude.
“I would like to acknowledge the hard work of our coaching team of Wayne Hone, Saul Nelson and Rob Higgitt and pay tribute to Ted Britton, Andy Woodruff and Sue Scorer who have put in a lot of work behind the scenes.
“It would be wrong to mention individual players as everyone who pulled on the shirt this season has done their part.
“I would, however, like to mention the leadership of captain Danny Hillman, who has lead by example over the two years.
“We know it will be a tough campaign next season and we will be looking to put plans in place soon to ensure we compete with the best in South West 2.
“The club is under no illusions as to the task that lies ahead, but for now everyone involved deserves to enjoy and celebrate the achievement of winning the league as that’s what club rugby is all about.”

Upcoming Fixtures

Latest Results

League Tables

South West Division » Tribute South West 1 West

1 Cleve 14 60
2 Ivybridge 14 50
3 Bridgwater & Albion 14 49
4 Camborne 14 44
5 Avonmouth Old Boys 14 41
6 Bideford 14 37
7 North Petherton 14 35
8 Wells 14 35
9 Thornbury 14 31
10 Drybrook 14 30
11 St Austell 14 28
12 Matson 14 23
13 Cullompton 14 21
14 Clevedon 14 18

Last updated Monday 22nd December, 10:06