Domestic Licence

The club has moved one step closer to a return to the Welsh Premier League , after being awarded the Welsh Domestic Licence for 2016-17.

The Domestic Licence is a mandatory requirement for all clubs seeking to compete at the highest level of Welsh domestic football.

20 clubs from across Wales applied for the forthcoming 2016-17 campaign, with 14 of these awarded licences by the FAW Club Licencing First Instance Body at a meeting in Cardiff.

These include 11 of the 12 sides that currently comprise the Welsh Premier League and Cymru Alliance duo Cefn Druids and Flint Town United; each Welsh Cup opponents of Barry's in recent seasons.

Among those to miss out this afternoon were long-standing Welsh Premier League campaigners Port Talbot Town and Welsh League Division One pairing Cardiff Metropolitan University and Penybont.

Those clubs who saw their licence applications declined have the option to appeal, with any appeals being heard on Thursday 21st April.

As matters stand, a first or second-placed finish would now open the gateway for Barry to be promoted; an outcome which would bring Welsh Premier football to Jenner Park for the first time since 2004.

The full list of clubs awarded the 2016-17 Welsh Domestic Licence reads as follows, with further detail available on the FAW website:

Aberystwyth Town
Airbus UK Broughton
Bala Town
Bangor City
Barry Town United
Carmarthen Town
Cefn Druids
Flint Town United
Gap Connah’s Quay
Haverfordwest County
Mbi Llandudno
The New Saints


Club sponsors