Fan Ownership

The 2015 AGM of Barry Town United AFC was held at the Jenner Rooms on June 4th, with around 60 enthusiastic attendees helping to shape the club's immediate future.

The evening saw the club chairman, secretary, treasurer, programme editor and media officer each re-elected by its members, who also chose the club’s new green away kit for the 2015-16 season.

Among other decisions, members opted against an admission increase for the 2015-16 campaign; ensuring that Barrians will be able to watch Welsh League Division One football for the same price as they paid to follow the side in Division Two.

A resolution was also carried to push for consistent kick-off times throughout the campaign; with a majority also deciding to retain the existing concessions structure for the 12-month period to follow.

Describing the club as "a vibrant place to be", manager Gavin Chesterfield was keen to stress the importance of continued and enhanced collaboration, as the club moves forward under co-operative fan ownership.

Chairman Eric Thomas meanwhile shared his proud belief that the club had "moved to a new level in all areas", as representatives of the club’s newly-integrated pan-disability and senior ladies' sides looked on with interest.

An informal Q and A session brought a close to proceedings, with the non-profit community club offering thanks to everyone who attended or voted by proxy.

A host of fresh challenges await, but all at Barry Town remain united by a common cause; and the productive response to this inaugural AGM bodes well for the future ahead.

Barry Town United became fan-owned in 2013 and remain an active advocate of supporter-run football at all levels.

We encourage visitors to our site, particularly those from other parts of the country, to support their local fan-run club; each of whom owned and run by their communities.

1874 Northwich
Aylesbury United
Bromsgrove Sporting
Canterbury City
Chelmsford City
Chesham United
Chester FC
AFC Croydon Athletic
Darlington 1883
Dorchester Town
Enfield Town
Exeter City
FC United of Manchester
Fisher FC
Hendon FC
Hinckley AFC
Lewes FC
AFC Liverpool
Merthyr Town
Newport IoW FC
Portsmouth FC
Prescot Cables
Runcorn Linnets
AFC Rushden & Diamonds
Saffron Walden Town
Scarborough Athletic
AFC Telford United
AFC Wimbledon
Windsor FC
Wrexham FC
Wycombe Wanderers


Club sponsors