Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Brigg Town FC app


First Team - Match centre

adidas lockerroom
Belper Town
Brigg Town
Sat 19 Apr 15:00 - The Evo-Stik League Northern Premier - First Division South Full time Attendance 196

Belper Town 3 Brigg Town 0

Thanks to Belper Town for this match report

Another week and another win for the Nailers who successfully made it seven in a row, as Brigg Town were the latest to suffer on this occasion, writes Joe Malone.

Jon Froggatt slams his 38th goal of the season from close range to give the Nailers a two-goal advantage (Photo: Tim Harrison)

Manager Peter Duffield made changes to his side, in order to protect certain players ready for the play-off show down.

Dave Ratcliffe started in goal, Chris Jones moved in to centre half alongside captain for the day Phil Watt, with Aaron Pride starting at right fullback and Liam Davis at left fullback in place of James Cullingworth.

Simon Harrison played in the centre of midfield alongside Colin Marrison, whilst Aaron Cole and Sam Duncum occupied either flank and Mark Ward partnered Jon Froggatt up front.

Jon Froggatt had an early sight of goal after just two minutes when Scott Matthews squared the ball straight to the Nailers number 9. Froggatt then engineered half a yard of space and unleashed a shot from distance which flew high and wide of Robert Zand’s goal.

Brigg Town had a golden opportunity of their own inside the first ten minutes, when the industrious Elliot Broughton played in Kieran McCarthey who successfully chipped the out-rushing Ratcliffe, only for Liam Davis to hook the ball off the line.

Four minutes later, Broughton’s quick free kick switched the ball to the unmarked Paul Ashton, who fired in a near post shot, but Ratcliffe was equal to the chance.

The Nailers had a ‘goal’ disallowed after 17 minutes when a foul on Brigg central defender Scott Hellewell was enough to cancel out Mark Ward’s close range tap in, following a free kick from the right by Aaron Cole.

The Nailers then began to dominate proceedings, and it was only a matter of time before they would eventually break the deadlock.

A Liam Davis throw level with the penalty area was teed up for Sam Duncum, who delivered an inch-perfect cross for leading marksman Jon Froggatt on the six yard line to steer his header into the bottom right corner after 25 minutes.

It took just seven minutes for Froggatt to double his tally for the day following a delightful move down the right hand side.

Aaron Pride collected the ball in the right back position and following a neat interchange of passes with Mark Ward, moved to the by-line and cut back a superb low cross for Jon Froggatt to score from close range for his 38th goal of the season.

Froggatt was controversially denied a first half hat-trick on the stroke of half time after a through ball by Marrison was tucked into the bottom left corner, only for the linesman’s flag to halt the celebrations.

The second half was played at a rather slower tempo by both sides, with Belper Town maintaining their professionalism to ensure that another three points would come their way.

Chris Jones saw his header cleared off the line by Scott Matthews after a good cross was delivered by Aaron Cole from the right hand side.

However, the Nailers made it 3-0 after 73 minutes when Simon Harrison played the ball up for Mark Ward who skinned a defender and curled an audacious shot into the top left corner.

Brigg team - Rob Zand, Will Peers, Scott Matthews, Anthony Bowsley, Scott Hellewell, Jack Bowskin, Paul Ashton, Kieran McCaffrey, Phil Jackman, Elliot Broughton, Liam Dickens (Subs - Will Forrest, Matt Muldoon, Connor Southern)

Look the part with adidas Locker Room

Video Advertising

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.

League round up

Other First Division South results

Halesowen Town
Gresley FC
Scarborough Athletic
Newcastle Town
Loughborough Dynamo
Sheffield FC
Sutton Coldfield Town
Mickleover Sports


Loading comments

League table

# Team Pl Pts
16. Sheffield FC 40 44
17. Lincoln United 40 36
18. Brigg Town 40 35
19. Market Drayton Town 40 35
20. Bedworth United 40 34
21. Kidsgrove Athletic 40 30
22. Eastwood Town 0 0

Team sponsors


Club sponsors