Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Cill Dara Rugby Football Club app


U18's - Match centre

Cill Dara RFC
Gorey RFC
Sat 6 Jan 13:00 - League Full time

Under 18.5’s beat Gorey 37- 34

Cill Dara 18s kick off the New Year with win against Gorey.

Gorey, like Cill Dara, entered this game having only lost a single game in Phase 1 to their league winners. Buoyed by their Osbourne Cup win last week the Cill Dara lads were quickly out of the traps and put Gorey under pressure from the kick-off. Thirty seconds later they were 5 nil up when Eoin O’Loughlin rounded his opposite number and scored in the corner. If Cill Dara were thinking it was going to be an easy day after that, they could not have been more wrong as these two sides were equally matched. Six minutes in Gorey got the first of their six tries when a planned backs move came off for them and they took the lead with the conversion. Seven minutes later they extended that lead with another try. An Adam Meehan try, converted by Ryan Curran, levelled the game up after seventeen minutes. The next two tries were scored in the 30th minute for Gorey and 34 minute for Cill Dara by Tadhg Murtagh to keep the sides level going into the break.

Half Time: Cill Dara 17 Gorey 17

Cill Dara, now playing with the wind struck first in the second half with a Ryan Curran penalty. This was followed by a converted try when they blocked down the Gorey out-half in the in-goal area and Cody O’Reilly was the first to react. Cill Dara, at this stage, were the better team but a series of handling errors let Gorey back into the game with three unanswered tries giving them a 34- 27 lead with five minutes remaining. Following some good work from the forwards a simple backs move resulted in Eoin O’Loughlin scoring out wide and an excellent conversion from Ryan Curran levelled the game for the third time. Cill Dara continued to exert pressure on their visitors and Ryan Curran had the chance to take the lead with time up but his penalty came off the post. Inexplicitly Gorey tried to run the ball from their own 5 meter line and after making progress to the 22-meter line with their pack they conceded a second penalty for crossing and this time Ryan Curran did not miss, resulting in a deserved if somewhat fortunate win.
Next up for the lads will be a very tough assignment as they take on Qualifier A winners Wicklow away next Saturday.

Full Time: Cill Dara 37 Gorey 34

Team: Cian Buckley, Eoin O’Loughlin, Adam Meehan, Ryan Curran, Sean Conway, Tadhg Murtagh, David Vaughan, Sam Downey, Matthew Conway, Darragh Whelan, Jake Conway, Michael John Prendergast, Ross Dooley, Reece Delaney, Conor Smyth. Replacements: Sean Bowden, Cody O’Reilly, Christopher Walsh, Kyle Walsh, Brian Mulcahy, Taran Clifford-Broughal, Ben Savage.

Scorers: Try: Eoin O’Loughlinnx2, Tadhg Murtagh, Cody O’Reilly, Adam Meehan Conv: Ryan Curranx3, Penalty: Ryan Curranx2

Gorey: Henry Kennedy, Flynn Donnelly, Sean Wafer, Greg Bolger, Andrew Cushen, Mark Kehoe, Cillian Tomkins, Jack Ryan, Toby Falconer, Lucas MCDonagh, Tadhg O’Neill, Sean Dunne, Frank Kavanagh, Liam Molloy. Replacements: Cillian O’Sullivan, Oran Fitzpatrick

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.


Loading comments

Team sponsor

Club sponsors