Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with City of Portsmouth Hockey Club


City come together as one to party.

1 year ago By Ed Smyth

City celebrated as a club and as friends.

City hosted our annual club dinner at The Duke of Buckingham and the intimate setting only helped to highlight our club spirit as we came together to celebrate our achievements.

The awards kicked off with Chairman Ed Smyth explaining the unfortunate absence of the Men's Stars due to so many of team representing Hampshire the next day. He highlighted the achievements of the team, and we all look forward to their continued success next season.

Unfortunately not all the teams were as successful as the Stars, with the Men's 3s and both the Ladies' and Men's 2s find themselves in the relegation zone. Captain of the 3s Ali Perkins thanked his players for battling hard and not giving up despite the struggles of the season and it was with great pride that he announced his close personal friend and club stalwart Dave Thomas as 3rd team player of the season.

The Ladies' 2s were clearly in mood to party and put the woes of the season behind them as captain Meri Westlake led the team in song before announcing Laura Burden as their player of the season, praising her for exceptionally strong season and her willingness to step up and take the reigns of the team when Meri was assisting the 1s with her unique style of goalkeeping.

The Men's 2nd XI player player of the season was awarded to Jacob Jolliffe (pronounced Wyacob Yolifeefee) for his solid defending, tasteful conversation and his gradual streamlining since starting training – as well as his well deserved call up to the Men's 1s. Captain Alan Ball went on to explain the contributions from all team members with Jim Clarke receiving the accolade of Donkey of the season. It is worth mentioning that at this point the fate of the team is unknown as results in the leagues above may yet keep them up.

Katie Spooner, captain of the Ladies' 1s stepped up to present the player of the season award to Lauren Stewart, praising her boundless energy, enthusiasm and excitability. Special mention was also made of her partner in crime Lauren Civill-Holt, who is sadly leaving us as she moves back to Bristol after 3 exceptional seasons at CoPHC, we wish her all the best in future endeavors.

Spoon went on to warn the Ladies that they should try to mute their celebrations as their entire season rested on 70 minutes on the next day. This suggestion was met with a resounding no from all team members (including Katie and her phone) with a variety of hangovers displayed at their 13:30 pushback, however the ladies overcame both these and Fareham to continue the party earn promotion for the second year in a row.

At this point the microphone was passed to Rob Boswell, captain of the Men's 1st XI who displayed a previously unknown eloquence as he described the entirety of the team's season through the medium of poetry. Many present felt this was more deserving of a yellow card than any of Seb Martin's many misdemeanors that saw him win the Donkey award. In more positive news, Luke Parsons collected the player of the season trophy for his unyielding performances across the season.

The senior section recognises the efforts and development of its young players each year. Despite this being a single award it was impossible to separate two members of the club, with trophies presented to both Ladies' 1s player Ellie McMaster and Men's 2s player Peter Wright.

The award for top goalscorer was as ever hotly contested, despite George Berks scoring an impressive 15 goals, Ladies' 1s captain Katie Spooner took home the award for the 3rd year in a row.

The final award presented is usually the prestigious Clubperson of the year trophy, however this year the club chose to recognise two members who had gone far above what was expected of them – Special recognition awards were given to Meri Westlake, for her work for all teams, and also to Chris Wimshurst for putting so much of his time in to training and coaching the Men's teams, especially the 1s.

This segued nicely in to the Clubperson of the year award as Chris had also received nominations for this, Alan Ball and Ali Perkins gaining votes too. However the trophy and plate were presented to David Johns, for his work as Treasurer, Press and Publicity Officer and Most Organised Man in the World, not just this season but for the previous 3 as well.

In addition to the trophy winners themselves, the club would like to thank all committee, and club members for their efforts this season both on and off the pitch. If your name hasn't been mentioned above, it doesn't mean we don't appreciate you!

Finally, we would like to thank Emily Crowcroft and Lauren Stewart for their efforts in organising the evening.

Full list of trophy winners:
Clubperson of the Year – David Johns
Ladies' 1st XI – Lauren Stewart
Ladies' 2nd XI – Laura Burden
Men's 1st XI – Luke Parsons
Men's 2nd XI – Jacob Jolliffe
Men's 3rd XI – Dave Thomas
Men's 4th XI – TBA following their awards evening
Young Player of the Year – Ellie McMaster and Peter Wright
Top Goal Scorer – Katie Spooner
Special Recognition – Meri Westlake and Chris Wimshurst

Updated 21:20 - 3 Apr 2017 by Ed Smyth

Where next?

Important reminder for monthly payers With the season drawing to a close, it is important to maintain your monthly payments throughout the summer.
Ralph Rawson It is with great sadness that we have to inform you that Ralph Rawson has passed away.


Loading comments

Book your OPRO mouth guard day!

Sat 7 Apr
Mens 1st Team Bournemouth 2
League 10 – 1
Sat 24 Mar
Mens 1st Team Southampton Univ 1
League 4 – 1


Club sponsor