Clydebank Rugby Football Club

Clydebank Rugby Football Club

West League format - Season 2012/2013


Two West Region clubs, Kilmarnock and Garnock, have dropped from the 2011-2012 National League into the West Regional League for next season. Therefore, following the format agreed by the West League clubs’ meeting at Cambuslang RFC on 28 September 2011, the 2012-2013 West League will comprise the following:

Division 1 - 10 clubs

Division 2 - 12 clubs

Division 3 - 10 clubs

Division 4 - 9 clubs

A supplementary message will be sent to the Division 2 clubs regarding the format for the 12-team league.

Here is the full list of which clubs will be playing in what divisions next season:

Division 1Division 2Division 3Division 4

GarnockWaysiders/D’pellierOban LorneCumnock

MarrStewartryCarrick or MillbraeStrathclyde Police

GHKCambuslangLoch LomondMoffat

IrvineStrathendrickIsle of MullHyndland

Glasgow AcciesLenziePaisleyBishopton

East KilbrideClydebankClydesdaleCowal

Newton StewartCumbernauldJordanhill PhoenixMid Argyll

Allan Glen’sStrathavenLanarkRenfrew

HelensburghWigtownshireIsle of Arran


Carrick or Millbrae


The runners-up position in the current season’s third division has yet to be settled. That should have been decided by the result of the Millbrae v Clydesdale match on Saturday (5 May). However, that match was not played.

Renfrew have returned to the West League and have been included in Division 4.

However, Braidholm have dropped out of the league, though advising that an application may be made for a return in 2013-2014. Glasgow East decided not to go ahead with a provisional request to join the league.


Following the format defined in the Scottish Rugby Council’s Season Structure Working Party 2011 report, which was accepted by Scottish Rugby’s annual general meeting last June, the Cup, Shield and Bowl competitions will again be run initially on a regional basis. The West Regional Shield will be contested by the 22 clubs in the West League’s first and second divisions: similarly, the West Regional Bowl will be contested by the 19 clubs in the third and fourth divisions. The ultimate winners of each will go on to contest the national semi-finals.

If you have questions regarding the above information on the 2012-2013 competitions, please contact John Gillies, the West Region Administrator, or Bill McMurtrie, the West Regional Competitions Committee’s convener.

John Gillies 07764 178 954

Bill McMurtrie 07774 687 115


Promotion and Relegation

West Division 1

Champions Marr (though no promotion)

Relegated to Division 2 Annan, Waysiders/Drumpellier, and Stewartry

West Division 2

Champions Helensburgh (promoted to Division 1)

Relegated to Division 3 Uddingston and Oban Lorne

West Division 3

Promoted to Division 2 McLaren (champions) and either Carrick or Millbrae

Relegated to Division 4 Birkmyre and Cumnock

West Division 4

Promoted to Division 3 Lanark (champions) and Isle of Arran


Nobody has commented yet. Be the first!

League News

  1. Loch Lomond Rugby Club, 40 minutes ago

    Minis away at Bannockburn Sunday 30th November

  2. Allan Glens Rugby Club, 9 hours ago

    Weekly Round Up 22 - 23rd November 2014

  3. Cumnock Rugby Football Club, 1 day ago

    Micro/mini catering on game days

  4. Cumbernauld Rugby Club, 1 day ago

    Rain stops play ...

  5. Cambuslang Rugby Club, 1 day ago

    Christmas Party Night !!

  6. Uddingston RFC, 4 days ago

    Notice of UC&SC EGM - 8pm on Mon 8th Dec 2015


or Register to add a comment

News Sponsors