Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Denbigh Town Football Club


First Team - Match centre

Denbigh Town
Ruthin Town
Wed 23 Aug 19:30 - Huws Gray Alliance League - Huws Gray Alliance Full time Attendance 200

Denbigh lose to last kick of the game in the 96th minute.

This midweek local derby attracted a large crowd to Central Park that saw Ruthin come out victors with the last kick of a feisty game which saw Denbigh controversially reduced to 10 men when Kristian Pierce received a second yellow card.

Ruthin were the brighter team at the start of the game creating several chances and having the larger possession of the ball. It took Denbigh 10 minutes for their first foray into Ruthin’s penalty box with Pierce’s cross being cut out by a Ruthin head for a corner. From the corner a goalmouth scramble saw Denbigh claiming a penalty for handball by a Ruthin defender but referee Owen waved play on.
Denbigh were starting to claim more possession now and had a great goal scoring opportunity, when full back Nathan Williams played a ball to Jake Eyre whose low cross was just beyond the outstretched leg of Pierce.

With just over 30 minutes played a high ball was played forward by Matt Cook towards the Ruthin goal from the centre circle. Josh Davies leapt high and with was able to connect and loop his header over Ruthin’s goalkeeper Ryan Goldstone to give Denbigh a 1-0 lead.
Minutes later Denbigh could have been two up when Nathan Williams fired a low cross to the far Ruthin post only for Davies to fail to connect
This spurred Ruthin into action and they pressed forward and had the better part of the last 10 minutes of the first half creating several opportunities which Denbigh’s defence dealt with comfortably

After the restart Ruthin continued to pressure and a ball was played through to the Denbigh goal line which Hill-Dunt looked to shepherd out only for Llyr Morris to challenge for the ball. Morris persistence paid off as he was brought to the ground by Hill-Dunt and the referee awarded a penalty. Morris stepped up and fired the ball into the net to give Ruthin their equaliser.
The game stepped up a gear and challenges were coming in thick and fast. Both teams had players yellow carded – Ben Nash for Denbigh and Gwion Owen for Ruthin – as both teams strived to take the lead.
Then on 65 minutes Denbigh’s Kristian Pierce went in strongly on a Ruthin player close to the new stand. Referee Owen rightly reached for his yellow card for a poor tackle, but then produced a red card as he had apparently yellow carded Pierce earlier in the game. Pierce could not recall having received the earlier yellow card and yet Mr Owen was adamant he had now been carded twice and Pierce had to leave the field.
Denbigh’s manager Eddie Maurice-Jones was now forced to reshape his team and brought on Sam Tate and Warren Duckett for Alan Bull and Jake Eyre with a view to strengthening the midfield. This worked for some time as Denbigh created chances with Gareth Partridge supplying Josh Davies with a great chance only for Davies’ shot to go well over the bar.

Denbigh v Ruthin 23 Aug 2017
35 photos

As the game drew to a close Ruthin’s extra man began to show and Llyr Morris was a constant threat. He brought a fine save from Hill Dunt and linked well with Ruthin sub Wil Owen to produce another goal scoring chance which went wide.
Denbigh made their last substitution with Lewys Turner coming on for Gareth Partridge. They endeavoured to get into Ruthin’s half but chances were becoming harder to come by.
As the game moved into injury time Ruthin forced a corner. The cross was met by a Ruthin head and fell to the feet of Morris, who had time to fire the ball into the back of the Denbigh net. Dejected Denbigh took the restart and Mr Owen blew up immediately to give Ruthin their first points of the season.
Denbigh now have to pick themselves up for the weekend fixture away at Caernarfon on Saturday 26th August kick off 2.30pm

Denbigh Town
Jon Hill-Dunt, Jack Riley, Nathan Williams, Dan Sullivan, Ben Nash, Matt Cook, Kristian Pierce, Gareth Partridge, Jake Eyre, Josh Davies, Alan Bull Subs: Sam Tate, Lewys Turner, Warren Duckett

Ruthin Town
Ryan Goldstone, Isaac Edwards, Adam Harvey-Jones, Mike Sharples, Kevin Evans, Ilan Hughes, Gwion Owen, Osian Davies, Jordan MacCarter, Llyr Morris, Garmon Hafal Subs: Sam Jones, Wil Owen, Tomos Tryfan Jones, Elliott Slade, Matthew Williams

Referee: Dewi Rhys Owen – Valley
Assistant – Carl Hogan – Holyhead
Assistant – Will Peel - Amlwch

5 sports clubs amongst winners in the Jewson Building Better Communities competition.

Videos and photos

Denbigh v Ruthin 23 Aug 2017
35 photos

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.

League round up

Other Huws Gray Alliance results

Holywell Town
Holyhead Hotspur
Llandudno Junction
Caernarfon Town

League table

# Team Pl Pts
1. Caernarfon Town 28 65
2. Denbigh Town 28 60
3. Airbus Broughton 28 54
4. Guilsfield 28 53
5. Holywell Town 28 50
6. Rhyl 28 47
7. Porthmadog 28 44

Team sponsor


Club sponsor