Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Dunfermline Rugby Football Club app


BT Sports Academy U17 Championships

6 months ago By David Quarm

U17 sides to battle for trophy

Good luck to Oliver Kirk and Niall Dowds

The BT Sports Academy U17 teams are set to play their final round of the BT Sports Academy U17 Championships tomorrow (Wednesday 11 April) at Gala 4G.

The Borders & East Lothian U17 face Caledonia U17 to decide who will lift the trophy, with Glasgow and Edinburgh also playing to decide the third and fourth spots.

Scottish Rugby’s Head of Age Grade rugby, Sean Lineen, said: “These fixtures are another opportunity for our young rugby players to test themselves against the best from around the country as the BT Sports Academy Season comes to an end.”

These fixtures are an opportunity for players as they compete for selection along with identified players from the Scottish Qualified (SQ) Performance Pathway for the Scotland U17 Development Squad that will join up with England for a weekend of training and development matches later this month.

The Scotland based players will have a short break before preparation for the BT Sport Academy U18 Championship in the summer when the BT Sport Academy 2018/19 season kicks-off in July.

Glasgow & the West U17 v Edinburgh U17, Gala 4G, 1.30pm

Glasgow & the West U17: Nic McAllister (St Aloysius College); Finlay Callaghan (Glasgow Hawks RFC/Jordanhill School), Adam Scott (St Aloysius College), Andrew Houston (Cumnock RFC), Jordan Craig (Hamilton RFC); Joseph Strain (Ayr RFC), Sandy Greig (High School of Glasgow); Dean Hunter (St Aloysius College), Robbie Fraser (Bishopton RFC), Callum Brown (Kelvinside Academy), Jamie Campbell (Kelvinside Academy), Luca Alessandri (St Aloysius College), Cameron Cobbett CAPTAIN (Glasgow Hawks RFC), Jamie Drummond (Cumnock RFC), Rory Jackson* (Kelvinside Academy). Replacements: Cameron Shaw (West of Scotland), Gary Findlay (Hamilton Bulls), Harry Rodgers (St Columba’s School), Matthew Fletcher (East Kilbride RFC), Ewan Wallace (West of Scotland FC), Finlay Neilson (Glasgow Academy), Andrew Lamb (Strathaven RFC), Tom Lanni (Ayr RFC).

Edinburgh: Charlie Pargeter (The Edinburgh Academy); Jamie Stephen (George Watsons College), Finlay McNeil (Stewarts Melville College), Angus McLeod (George Heriots School), Harry Patterson (Fettes College); Cameron Scott (George Watsons College), Ethan McViker (Boroughmuir Rugby); Dan Hay (Stewarts Melville College), Robbie Simpson (The Edinburgh Academy), Cole Lamberton (Royal High School), Jonathan Roberts (George Watsons College), Struan Whittake (Trinity Academy/BATS), Michael Baird (Stewarts Melville Academy), Will Smith (Merchiston Castle School), Sam Humphries (Lasswade Rugby). Replacements: Will Harper (Merchiston Castle School), Blair Harvey (Livingston RFC), Ewan McCallum (West Calder HS/Currie Chieftains), Finlay Davey (Fettes College), JJ Neil (Boroughmuir Rugby), Ross Johnston (Stewarts Melville College), Nathan Moffat (Stewarts Melville College), Hector Gray (Royal High School).

Borders & East Lothian U17 v Caledonia U17, Gala 4G, 3pm

Borders & East Lothian U17: Callum Pate (Knox Academy/Haddington RFC); Liam Hasting (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), Scott King (Preston Lodge HS/RFC*), Nathan Sweeney (Loretto School), James Delany (Hawick HS/RFC); Scott Clark (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), Hamish Tweedie (Kelso HS/RFC); James Hunter (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), Angus Dunn (Galashiels Academy/Gala RT), Struan Lugton (Dunbar GS/RFC), Andrew Sweenie (Kelso HS/RFC), Gordon Baptie (North Berwick HS/RFC), Daniel Kerr (Galashiels Academy/Gala RT), Matthew Crain (North Berwick HS/RFC), Trystan Andrews (Earlston HS/Melrose RFC). Replacements: Euan Bonthron (Musselburgh GS/RFC), Morgan Thomson (Kelso HS/RFC), Ethan Deacon (Borders College/Duns RFC), Connor Orphant (Preston Lodge HS/RFC), Tom Walker (Longridge Towers/Duns RFC), Fraser Gilvary (North Berwick HS/RFC), Lucas Brook (Loretto School), Ross Young (Peebles HS/RFC), Callum Anderson (Selkirk HS/YC).

Caledonia U17: Aidan Watson (Perthshire); Mungo Sommerville (Madras), Kier Singleton (Stirling County), Rory Fraser (Madras), Greg McRae (Granite City); Harry Mercer (Madras), Fin McIllwraith (Dollar); Ben Mace (Stirling County), Greg Clunas (Strathallan/Howe of Fife), Thomas Ryan (Granite City), Gregor Brown (Robert Gordons College), Niall Dowds (Dunfermline), Josh Minty (Granite City), Liam Dreelan (Mackie) Josh King CAPTAIN (Queen Victoria School/Helensburgh RFC). Replacements: Finn McCarthy (Glenalmond), Glen Brough (Orkney), George Breese (Glenalmond), Jamie Cruickshanks (Dollar), Ross McCrostie (Madras), Oliver Kirk (Dunfermline), Alasdair Stephen (Granite City), Ben Wightman (Perthshire).

Updated 18:05 - 10 Apr 2018 by David Quarm

Where next?

Book your place now - Dunfermline RFC Sporting Dinner 2018 Join us at the Glen Pavilion to celebrate DRFC's 125th anniversary. Speakers include Andy Nicol, George McNeill and your MC Jim Leishman.
Dunfermline player selected for Scotland U16 teams Congratulations to Owen Brown who has been selected for the Scotland U16 Blues squad.


Loading comments

Quilter Kids First Skills Series: Hide the Attacker

Sat 27 Oct
Colts GHA
League 14:00
League 15:00
League 15:00
Sun 28 Oct
League 14:00
League 14:00
League 14:00
Friendly 14:00
Sat 3 Nov
2nd XV Stobswell RFC
League 14:00
Colts Perthshire
League 14:00


Club sponsors