Frickley Athletic FC

Frickley Athletic FC

Chasetown 2-1 Frickley Athletic

by Steve Pennock

Reduced to ten men, Frickley battled to the end and were unfortunate not to share the spoils at Chasetown.

Chasetown 2-1 Frickley Athletic

With a strong wind in their favour, the home side took an 11th minute lead when David Cyrus was harshly penalised for a push on Ramone Stephens and Gary Hay beat Adam Billard from the resulting spot kick.

The Blues responded with Michael Simpkins heading just over from an Alex Callery right wing corner kick five minutes later, but chances were limited afterwards as the two midfields cancelled one another out.
It took a fine save from Billard to deny George Johnson in the 39th minute.

Peter Knox latched on to a high ball in the 48th minute but did not connect properly and it was easily saved by Scholars shotstopper Ryan Price, while Knox outmuscled Matty Cohen three minutes later and bore down on goal but his drive was well blocked by Price.

Frickley were in command, Stuart Ludlam going close at the far post following a left wing flag kick by Ashmore in the 59th, and they deservedly got on terms two minutes later, Knox flicking a pass to Leon Henry who crossed from Ryan Mallon to score from 15 yards.

This stirred Chasetown into action, and Johnson fired inches wide in the 62nd minute, while a good cross from the right six minutes later saw Chris Slater restore their advantage from close range.

Frickley again responded, Kelvin Bleau overlapping in the 73rd minute and putting an angled shot just off target, but they faced an uphill task when Jack Watts, who had earlier replaced Callery, was given a red card for an alleged elbow.

A 25 yard blockbuster from Ashmore was smothered by Price after 85 minutes, and the Blues forced three corners in an attempt to level, but the home cover remained firm.

Chasetown: Ryan Price, Jimmy Turner, Mark Branch, Matty Cohen, Darren Stride (Jake Sedgemore 81min), Richard Teesdale, Ramone Stephens (Alex Steadman 88min), Chris Slater, Ben Jevons, Dean Perrow, Jordan Johnson (Mark Hands 90min); unused subs, Chris Peel, Andy Westwood.

Frickley: Adam Billard, Kelvin Bleau (Karl Jones 83min), David Cyrus, Danny Walsh (Ben Leonard 89min), Stuart Ludlam, Michael Simpkins, Alex Callery (Jack Watts 57min), James Ashmore, Peter Knox, Ryan Mallon, Leon Henry; unused subs, Bradley Grayson, Grant Darley.

Referee: Mr Andrew Fox

Opposition Match Report

View Match Centre »

Chasetown ended a run of three consecutive defeats with a well-deserved victory at The Scholars Ground. View Match Centre »

Other Premier Division Results

Chorley 2 0 FC United of Manchester Att. 1,074
North Ferriby United 1 4 Buxton Att. 229
Rushall Olympic 3 0 Burscough Att. 172
Stocksbridge Park Steels 3 4 Northwich Victoria Att. 174
Worksop Town 0 3 Chester FC Att. 570
Nantwich Town 2 0 Whitby Town Att. 223
Matlock Town 0 1 Bradford Park Avenue Att. 398
Ashton United 1 2 Hednesford Town Att. 145
Chasetown 2 1 Frickley Athletic Att. 221
Kendal Town 0 1 Stafford Rangers Att. 258
Marine 2 3 Mickleover Sports Att. 252

Team Sponsors