Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Georgetown Cricket Association app


About GCA

The Georgetown Cricket Association (G.C.A.) was founded in 1991 at the same time when there was a restructuring of the various cricket Boards in Guyana. Prior to the formation of the GCA, the clubs that now make up the G.C.A. were directly affiliated to the Guyana Cricket Board. However in 1990/1991, serious consideration was given to alter the Guyana Cricket Board's Constitution to bring it in line with the county structure and in August, 1992 the Guyana Cricket Board promulgated a new constitution with three affiliated members viz; Demerara, Berbice and Essequibo.

The Demerara Board which came into being around the same time is made up of four members viz;
East Bank Cricket Association, East Coast Cricket Board, West Demerara Cricket Board and Georgetown Cricket Association.

The GCA was made up of eight first division Clubs namely: Demerara Cricket Club, Everest Cricket Club, Georgetown Cricket Club, GNIC Sports Club, Gandhi Youth Organisation Sports Club, Malteenoes Sports Club, Police Sports Club and Transport & General Sports Club.

In addition, the following Clubs are also affiliated to the G.C.A: Diplomats Sports Club, GDF Sports Club, Muslim Youth Organisation Sports Club, Trade 11 Sports Club, YMCA ,Georgetown Third Class Class Cricket Association and Ace Warriors.

The former Presidents of the G.C.A are Mr. Claude Raphael, Mr. Sherlock Atwell, Mr. Paul Chan-A-Sue and Mr. Harold Dhanraj, Mr. Bishwa Panday and Mr. Alfred Mentore.

Where next?

Constitution Constitution of the Georgetown Cricket Association Constitution Approved at Georgetown Associati

Club sponsors