Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Gorleston FC


First Team - Match centre

Mildenhall Town
J Asensi (93'), S Spriggs (79'), D Brown (91')
Full time
Tue 14 Mar 19:45 - Thurlow Nunn Eastern Counties League - Premier Division Attendance 203

Late Goals Sink Greens

Gorleston may have lost to two late goals but their destiny is still in their own hands.

If the Greens win all their remaining ten matches, which would have to include victories over Felixstowe in a fortnights time then Mildenhall on 4th April, they would achieve one point more than those other sides could reach...

Ricci Butler made two changes for this clash against the leaders. Isaac Burrage and Keegan Middleton dropped to the bench and Connor Ingram and Joel Watts started with George Yusuff returning to the back four.

The pitch looked in great condition, ideal to knock the ball around on but, as it turned out, this wasn't a game for the purists with both sides favouring a direct approach during the first half. But it was a tense, enthralling match all the same.

Gorleston began attacking up the slope and the opening stages were played at a frenetic pace with Mildenhall having the edge.

The fourth minute saw the only shot in the game which forced either keeper to make a save but it was easy for Taurean Molloy from George Tolliday's effort.

The hosts then had a free kick awarded on the edge of the box for handball, it must have been very close to being inside the area, but Chris Bacon was unable to trouble Molloy with the kick.

The Greens defended strongly and looked able to cope with their opponents direct approach with Aaron Taylor and Yusuff winning most of the aerial battles.

Gorleston grew into the game and began to ask their hosts some questions and, four minutes before the break, came the Greens best chance of the half.

Kyle Ingram hit a first time cross to the far side of the penalty area where Kyle Baker chipped it back in front of goal to where Connor Ingram was poised to head goalwards, but keeper Josh Pope palmed the ball off the strikers head.

Playing down the slope in the second half, the Greens began to try and knock the ball around a bit.

Seven minutes into the half, Luke Goreham drilled a shot goalwards but it curled wide.

Connor Ingram then turned his defender but could only fire his shot over the bar.

Mildenhall did have the ball in the net from a corner in the 71st minute but the officials spotted that Dan Brown had turned it in with his hand, for which the striker received a yellow card.

The game was finely balanced, on a knife edge, with both sides trying to create an opening but both teams were also defending well and it was looking increasingly like finishing goalless.

Until the 79th minute.

A long ball was half cleared with Mildenhall retrieving and sending Brown down the Mildenhall right. He squared the ball across the box, bisecting Molloy and Harley Clements, and Steve Spriggs arrived to tuck the ball in.

Gorleston were forced to press forward, leaving themselves stretched at the back, but couldn't test the goalkeeper and the game was wrapped up in the first minute of stoppage time.

A Molloy punt was flicked on but the ball was thumped clear by the Hall defence. Bacon raced away squaring the ball into the middle for Brown to to take a touch and tuck away neatly.

It was harsh on the Greens who didn't deserve to lose.

Gorleston: Taurean Molloy, Harley Clements (c), Kyle Ingram (Isaac Burrage 85), Jacob Short, George Yusuff, Aaron Taylor, Luke Goreham, Peter Oldham (Keegan Middleton 72), Kyle Baker, Connor Ingram, Joel Watts (Damon Wise 85)

Bookings: Yusuff 65; K Ingram 83

Mildenhall: Josh Pope, Jacob Brown, Joe Asensi, Matt Mitchell-King, Arran Mackay, Gareth Simpson (c), Stephen Spriggs, Matt Green, Chris Bacon, Lee Clift (Dan Brown 52), George Tolliday (Max Melanson 72)

Bookings: Bacon 85; Asensi 90+3

Goals: Spriggs 79; D Brown 90+1

Attendance: 203

Ref: Nathan Walker

Stat Attack
0Other efforts on target1
4Other efforts off target1
0Other efforts against woodwork0
0Shots blocked1
1Corners for3
2Caught offside4
9Free kicks for13
2Yellow cards2
0Red cards0

Which club gets your vote? Voting opens in Jewson Building Better Communities

Key moments

Goal Stephen Spriggs scores for Mildenhall Town
90:00 +1:00
Goal Dan Brown scores for Mildenhall Town
90:00 +3:00
Goal Joe Asensi scores for Mildenhall Town


View 0 new events
90:00 +3:00 Goal 3 - 0
Joe Asensi scores for Mildenhall Town
90:00 +1:00 Goal 2 - 0
Dan Brown scores for Mildenhall Town
85:00 Sub On
Isaac Burrage is substituted on for Gorleston
85:00 Sub Off
Kyle Ingram is substituted off for Gorleston
85:00 Sub Off
Joel Watts is substituted off for Gorleston
85:00 Sub On
Damon Wise is substituted on for Gorleston
85:00 Yellow Card
Chris Bacon is yellow carded for Mildenhall Town
82:00 Yellow Card
Kyle Ingram is yellow carded for Gorleston
79:00 Goal 1 - 0
Stephen Spriggs scores for Mildenhall Town
72:00 Sub Off
Peter Oldham is substituted off for Gorleston
72:00 Sub On
Keegan Middleton is substituted on for Gorleston
65:00 Yellow Card
George Yusuff is yellow carded for Gorleston
Start of the game
Replay game

As it happened

  • Mildenhall Town
  • Gorleston
  • 0
  • George Yusuff Yellow Card 65:00'
  • Peter Oldham Sub Off 72:00'
  • Keegan Middleton Sub On 72:00'
  • Stephen Spriggs Goal 79:00'
  • Kyle Ingram Yellow Card 82:00'
  • Kyle Ingram Sub Off 85:00'
  • Isaac Burrage Sub On 85:00'
  • Joel Watts Sub Off 85:00'
  • Damon Wise Sub On 85:00'
  • Chris Bacon Yellow Card 85:00'
  • Dan Brown Goal 90:00 +1:00'
  • Joe Asensi Goal 90:00 +3:00'

Team selection

Mildenhall Town
  • 1. Josh Pope
  • 2. Jacob Brown
  • 3. Joe Asensi
  • 4. Matt Mitchell-King
  • 5. Arran Mackay
  • 6. Gareth Simpson
  • 7. Stephen Spriggs
  • 8. Matt Green
  • 9. Chris Bacon
  • 10. Lee Clift
  • 11. George Tolliday
  • 12. Dan Brown
  • 13. Max Melanson

League round up

Other Premier Division results

Godmanchester Rovers
Brantham Athletic


Loading comments

League table

# Team Pl Pts
1. Mildenhall Town 40 99
2. Felixstowe & Walton United 40 90
3. Newmarket Town 40 84
4. Gorleston 40 78
5. Great Yarmouth Town 40 68
6. Stanway Rovers 40 66
7. Thetford Town 40 65

Team sponsors


Club sponsors