Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Grantham Town FC


First Team - Match centre

Grantham Town
Matlock Town
Full time
M Williams (23'), M Dinanga (39')
Sat 12 Nov 15:00 - The FA Trophy 16-17 Attendance 259

FA Trophy defeat for The Gingerbreads

After a first FA Trophy win in 9 years, The Gingerbreads were looking to make it two in a season. However it wasn't to be.

The Gingerbreads made two changes from Tuesday night's defeat at Matlock, with Luke Shaw and Rhys Lewis making the starting line up.

Matlock took the lead when Michael Williams pounced on a defensive mix up on 23 minutes. It was Matlock who were next on the score sheet when Marcus Dinanga headed the ball home.

The second half, The Gingerbreads frustrated themselves when they got forward as either the final ball wasn't perfect or the expected player hadn't made the move as wanted.

The final whistle came and the FA Trophy journey was over.

Next up it's a return to The Meres on Tuesday when The Gingerbreads host Gresley FC in the Integro League Cup 1st Round, kick off 7.45pm

Key moments

Goal Michael Williams scores for Matlock Town
Goal Marcus Dinanga scores for Matlock Town


View 0 new events
82:00 Sub On
Michael Hollingsworth is substituted on for Grantham Town
82:00 Sub On
Danny Durkin is substituted on for Grantham Town
End of period 1
39:00 Goal 0 - 2
Marcus Dinanga scores for Matlock Town
23:00 Goal 0 - 1
Michael Williams scores for Matlock Town
Start of the game
Replay game

As it happened

  • Grantham Town
  • Matlock Town
  • 0
  • Michael Williams Goal 23:00'
  • Marcus Dinanga Goal 39:00'
  • Michael Hollingsworth Sub On 82:00'
  • Danny Durkin Sub On 82:00'

Team selection

Preston, Kieran Preston, Kieran
Meadows, Danny Meadows, Danny
Storey, Ellis Storey, Ellis
Clifton, Harry Clifton, Harry
Galinski, Stefan Galinski, Stefan
Wildin, Luther Wildin, Luther
Burrows, Curtis Burrows, Curtis
Lewis, Rhys Lewis, Rhys
Shaw, Lee Shaw, Lee
Barcelos, Felipe Barcelos, Felipe
Shaw, Luke Shaw, Luke
Matlock Town
  • 1. Phillip Barnes
  • 2. Liam Marsden
  • 3. Jake Green
  • 4. Joe Doyle-Charles
  • 5. Adam Yates
  • 6. Dwayne Wiley
  • 7. Niall McManus
  • 8. Michael Williams
  • 9. Curtis Morrison
  • 10. Marcus Dinanga
  • 11. Edward Cribley
  • 12. Alex Pursehouse
  • 14. Jamie Yates
  • 15. Marc Newsham
  • 16. Kevin Grocott
  • 17. Nicolantonio Degirolamo

Team sponsors


Club sponsors