Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Great Yarmouth Town Football Club app


First Team - Match centre

adidas lockerroom
Great Yarmouth Town
Newmarket Town
Sat 28 Apr 15:00 - Ridgeons Football League - Premier Division Full time Attendance 74

Bloaters secure second win in final game

Two goals in two first half minutes and a second half penalty secured Yarmouth’s second win of the season against fellow relegated side Newmarket Town

Goals from Aaron Hanks and Charlie McAra in two minutes, the former’s maiden for the first team, along with a penalty from George Barnden secured a winning end of the season in a dominant performance.

Three changes was made to the side that faced Mildenhall, Micael Adamo and Barney Lawrence made returns, while Aaron Hanks was given a place in the starting lineup as reward for being the reserve’s top scorer.

Yarmouth got off to the worst possible start conceding within the first three minutes, Joe Parr lobbing the keeper after the defence failed to deal with a bouncing ball.

Despite the set back Yarmouth soon took control of the game. Philip Watkins fired over after 13 minutes while 10 minutes later Aaron Hanks tested the keeper and George Barnden fired over the bar.

On 26 minutes Charlie McAra aimed a low cross to the near post, but in a crowded box Barney Lawrence poked the ball wide.

It was a matter of time before Yarmouth would find the back of the net, and they did so, twice in as many minutes.

A lofted clearance from Micael Adamo allowed Aaron Hanks to break through the visitor’s defense and roll the ball under the keeper for his maiden first team goal.

Two minutes later Crux’s over-hit cross found Charlie McAra who, from the byline, hooked the ball over his shoulder and into the far corner.

The confidence boost from the two goals transformed the Bloaters, On 34 minutes Leighton Crux tried, and missed, an acrobatic volley, while four minutes later Crux diverted a cross across the face of goal and wide with a diving header.

Yarmouth continued their dominance at the start of the second half, but Fernando Vide fired over the bar from 12 yard out after Charlie McAra and Aaron Hanks combined.

Charlie McAra hit a free kick onto crossbar from 25 yards as the hosts continued to push for an increase advantage.

A Newmarket spell ten minutes into the second half threatened to level the scorline, as Johnny Olive diverted Joe Parr’s header goalwards from an offside position after good work on the right, and Parr volleyed a corner over the bar.

On the hour mark good combination work by George Barnden and Fernando Vide lead to the former volleying a cross over the bar from 12 yards.

Three minute later Aaron Hanks had a low drive roll wide and Andre Costa curled a shot wide of the upright.

A Newmarket throw fell to Issac Smith, but the striker forced a comfortable save from Ben Cudden, who was otherwise a virtual spectator for most of the game.

Yarmouth continued to press for a third goal but no player in yellow and black could divert home Charlie McAra’s low ball across the face of goal.

With twenty minutes remaining Aaron Hanks was substituted for Marian Jobbagy, and the substitute had an immediate impact. After being found by Charlie McAra, Jobbagy had his run unfairly haulted inside the box. George Barnden despatched the resulting penalty into the bottom corner.

Newmarket never looked like fighting back as Yarmouth went on to record their second win of the season.

The Bloaters XI: Ben Cudden, Andre Costa, Philip Watkins, Barney Lawrence, Sam Giacomelli, Micael Adamo, Leighton Crux, George Barnden, Aaron Hanks (Marian Jobbagy 71), Charlie McAra (Nathan Kemp 89), Fernando Vide (Alex Pantelli 90+1). Unused subs: Lee Hackleton

Look the part with adidas Locker Room

Video Advertising

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.

League round up

Other Premier Division results

Brantham Athletic
Woodbridge Town
FC Clacton
Diss Town
Felixstowe & Walton United
Dereham Town
Hadleigh United
Kirkley & Pakefield
Stanway Rovers
Mildenhall Town

League table

# Team Pl Pts
15. FC Clacton 40 52
16. Diss Town 40 50
17. Walsham-le-Willows 40 45
18. Felixstowe & Walton United 40 44
19. Wivenhoe Town 40 39
20. Newmarket Town 40 16
21. Great Yarmouth Town 40 10

Team sponsors


Club sponsors