Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Harrow RFC app


Harrow take first County Honour

7 years ago By Andrew Smart

Never behind in the final Harrow storm to famous victory

1. Paul Carroll
2. Shane Togher
3. Mark Beauchamp
4. Dave West
5. Thomas Cosgrove
6. Brendan O’Sullivan
7. Brendan Dunpherry
8. Nick Argent
9. Gary Conroy
10. Andy Elliot
11. James Rowlands
12. Hywel Gosling
13. Simon Bram
14. Lee Hugget
15. Sean Pratt
16. Dave Hellard
17. Stuart Nurse
18. Tim O Connor
19. Michael McGuinness
20. Stuart Read

A tremendous performance by Harrow full of spirit, skill and determination saw the Club record their first County Honour in our history to win the Middx Federation Vase by 33-16 against Old Actonians.

In a match full of spice and commitment in which our higher ranked opponents had clearly not come to play second fiddle saw Harrow have to raise their game to compete with a bigger and more physical side than they had been used to all season. In a match in which every contact, every inch had to be fought for, against a side that was committed to the finish. in the end it was the dominant scrummage,midfield defence coupled with an outstanding performance at the breakdown by the whole team which saw Harrow through to victory On top of this Andy Elliot at stand half controlled the game beautifully and was my man of the match

Harrow were never behind facing down a strong start by Old Actonians to record the first try of the match by second row Dave West after 12 minutes striding in from 10 yards out following an inside pass from Elliott. Converted by Conroy who followed 4 minutes later with a penalty. Old Actonians responded with a penalty after 20 minutes after they had had a try disallowed a couple of minutes earlier for a double movement. At 27 minutes from almost exactly the same move from an inside pass from Elliott Brendan O'Sullivan scored again from about 10 yards out again converted by Conroy
Unfortunately three minutes later Harrow having been warned previously by the referee saw Dave West sent to the sin bin for pulling down a maul.

In the next 10 minutes Harrow conceded 10 points as Old A's made their extra man count
After his return both sides exchanged penalties to see Harrow go into half time 20-16 in front.

In the second half it was Harrow who forced the pace. A further penalty from Conroy at 45 minutes

The next 15 minutes was a real dog fightl as Old A's desperately tried to get back into the match and Harrow had to defend their line with real resolve.

Then hat 20 minutes from the 22 meter line a quite brilliant move was finished by Harrow's most dangerous runner Conroy who converted the try himself

The game was now won but Old As in front of their own supporters kept going
but a final penalty after 30 mins was the last score and saw Harrow champions

County President Paul Astbury presented the Vase to Captain Mark Beauchamp and then it was back to the Club to celebrate

Harrow's unbeaten season continues with only the NW Middx Floodlit Final to follow against Ruislip at home on Wednesday ko 7.30pm

Well done to everybody concerned. A great day in our history as we continue to rebuild

See you all Wednesday as the players look to finish off their season with a third trophy

Photographs of the final are on the website under Photos athe bottom of the homepage

Andrew Smart
Chairman Harrow RFC

Where next?

Harrow to go for third Trophy on Wednesday Night Harrow to play defending champions in final of NW Middx Floodlit Cup
Middx Federation Vase Final ko 2pm Club to contest first of two Cup Finals on Saturday ko 2pm

Quilter Kids First Skills Series: 1x1 rip

Sun 20 Jan
U16 Training
Training 10:00
U13 Finchley
Training 10:00
Mini Rugby U7-U12 Training
Training 10:00
U15 Tabards
League 11:00
League 12:00
Sat 26 Jan
1st XV Datchworth
League 14:00
Sun 27 Jan
U13 Hertford
Friendly 09:50
Friendly 10:00
Mini Rugby U7-U12 Old Grammarians RFC
Friendly 10:00
U15 Ealing B
League 11:00

News sponsors


Club sponsor