Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Norwich United Football Club


Under 21 - Match centre

Norwich United U21
Norwich CBS
Norwich United U21 win 4 - 2 on penalties. Wed 13 Sep 19:45 - Cup Full time

Lemmon the hero in penalty shoot out

Planters through to next round

Norwich United U21 1 Norwich CBS 1 (U21s win 4-2 on pens)

Thurlow Nunn First Division KO Cup First Round

The U21s won through in a penalty shoot out in their first meeting with City rivals Norwich CBS. Young keeper Harley Lemmon, called up to the side after Billy Johnson's suspension, saved two spot kicks in the shoot out and with the hosts scoring four out of four, the Planters were through after the game finished all square at one goal apiece.

The Planters started the stronger and Andy Eastaugh saw a far post header deflected wide from a free kick deep on the left.

CBS responded well though with Sam Gauntlett and Jordan Attree combining well before Gauntlett fired over.

The Planters could well have been ahead at half time though, Severin Mokake saw his dipping shot from range go narrowly over the crossbar and Amon Kulsirayi had a strong run down the right before releasing Lee Will whose shot was blocked, Daniel Mattyasorsky saw his follo up header cleared.

The promising performance continued into the second half and after 56 minutes the Planters took the lead, Mokake's free kick from the left was headed down by Daniel Henery and Josh Carus was on hand to fire home from close range.

Mattyasorsky saw his shot from Daniel Hogston's cross blocked before Daniel Barraclough equalised from the spot after a foul in the area to send the tie to a penalty shoot-out.

Barraclough was tasked with the first CBS penalty, but this time saw his penalty saved by Lemmon. Hogston, Ben Morgan, Mokake, Glynn Lewis and Mattyasorsky all scored to put the Planters 3-2 ahead before Lemmon saved again, this time from Jordan Attree, to leave Eastaugh to step up and send the Planters through to the next round.

U21: Lemmon, Blythe, Probert, D Henery, Carus, Eastaugh, Kulsirayi (Diggens 76), Mokake, Hogston, Will, Mattyasorsky. Unused subs: Rivett, Giacomelli, R Howard, S Howard.

Which club gets your vote? Voting opens in Jewson Building Better Communities

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.


Loading comments


Club sponsors