Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Old Caterhamians RFC app


Anti-Bullying Policy

Bullying is not easy to define, can take many forms and is usually repeated over a period of time.
The three main types of bullying are: physical (e.g. hitting, kicking), verbal (e.g. racist or
homophobic remarks, threats, name calling) and emotional (e.g. isolating an individual from
activities). They will all include:
1. Deliberate hostility and aggression towards the victim;
2. A victim who is weaker than the bully or bullies;
3. An outcome which is always painful and distressing for the victim.
Bullying behaviour may also include:
1. Other forms of violence;
2. Sarcasm, spreading rumours, persistent teasing or theft;
3. Tormenting, ridiculing, humiliation;
4. Racial taunts, graffiti, gestures;
5. Unwanted physical contact or abusive or offensive comment of a sexual nature.
Emotional and verbal bullying is more likely to be found in rugby than physical violence. It is also difficult to cope with or prove. It is of paramount importance that all clubs develop their own antibullying policy to which all its members, coaches, players, staffing volunteers and parents subscribe to and accept.
Every club should be prepared to:
1. Take the problem seriously;
2. Investigate any incidents;
3. Talk to the bullies and victims separately.
Decide on appropriate action, such as:
1. Obtain apology from the bully(ies) to the victim;
2. Inform parents of the bully(ies);
3. Insist on the return of items, borrowed or stolen;
4. Insist bullies compensate the victim;
5. Hold club or class discussions about bullying;
6. Provide support for the coach of the victim.

Video Advertising


Club sponsors