Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Plymouth Argaum RFC (


All Change

5 months ago By Stuart Quarterman

New leaders at Bickleigh Down!

It's all change at Plymouth Argaum RFC. We are pleased to announce that John Ireland has agreed to take on the 1st team captain role for the 2017/18 season, Calum Mills as vice captain and pack leader and Dan Smith the role of Club Captain.

John joined Argaum in 2015 and immediately established himself as a first team regular. Previously tending to play back row, he is extremely versatile and can play in a variety of positions within the pack and has been known to have the odd stint in the centres. It is from these opportunities in the backs that he has decided to switch his talents to the centre for this season. Throughout this season he will be ably supported by Calum as his vice.

As well as a new team captain and vice, Dan Smith has accepted the vital role of Club Captain. Dan has been with the club since 2004, is a front five specialist and rarely misses a training session or game. He and his entire family support the Club 100%, which is exactly what we need from our Club Captain.

On accepting the captaincies John and Dan said 'It is an honour to have captaincy roles within a club that is a big part of us. Between the coaches and everyone in the squad, we look forward to the challenges ahead and will do all we can to ensure we have a successful season. We have had some big and positive changes this summer, both in coaching team and ethos and everyone is very excited for the season ahead'.

Updated 18:02 - 6 Sep 2017 by Stuart Quarterman

Where next?

The Cubs are Back! Mini rugby returns for another season
Barney's Last Runout at Argaum? Club President may be hanging up his playing boots after 43 years at Plymouth Argaum.


Loading comments

OMW Skills Series: Passing

Sat 20 Jan
The Chiefs (1st XV) Wellington
League 14:30
The Wanderers (2nd XV) DHSOB Wizzards
League 14:30
Sun 21 Jan
The Cubs (u9) Newton Abbott RFC
Friendly 10:00
The Cubs (u8) Newton Abbott RFC
Friendly 10:00
The Cubs (u7) Newton Abbott RFC
Friendly 10:00
The Tigers (u15) Plymstock Albion Oaks
Friendly 11:00
Sat 27 Jan
The Chiefs (1st XV) Wessex
League 14:30

News sponsors


Club sponsors