HISTORY IN BRIEF
It was in 1823 at Rugby school when William Webb Ellis first picked up a ball and ran with it. By 1882 there was an International Rugby Board and the game was being played enthusiastically in Tamworth.
The game and fledgling club continued to strengthen until the First World War took its toll. The club wasn’t then reformed until 1925 by local solicitor John Hunt Dewes. The Tamworth team then played at the Castle grounds and was able to use the Castle Hotel as their meeting place.
Prior to 1947 the team had all been adult players as the local schools only played soccer, but in 1946-47 Queen Elizabeth Grammar School introduced rugby and declared it to be the school game. This increased the popularity and brought in new young players to the club.
The meeting place moved to Market Street after the ownership changed at the Castle Hotel and by the1960’s Tamworth was fielding two or three sides and the Colts team was formed.
When Wigginton Park was defined, the club obtained a lease for two pitches and the Lodge for a club house, the first matches were played there in 1970.
Today it is a living and breathing club for all ages and stands testament to the members who have built it over the years.