Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Thurrock FC (Company Reg. 3178069)


First Team - Match centre

AFC Hornchurch
R Sutton (12')
Full time
Wed 26 Apr 19:45 - The Ryman League Play Offs 16-17 Attendance 481

Thurrock 1 AFC Hornchurch 0

Match Report by Robert Wheeler

Thurrock FC booked their place in final of the Ryman One North playoff after a 1-0 victory over AFC Hornchurch on a cold Wednesday night at Ship Lane in front of a crowd of 481.

The Fleet started strongly with Remi Sutton putting in a good ball in to Mark Onyemah who fired a shot in from a tight angle forcing Hornchurch keeper Sam Mott into making a smart save.

Thurrock were dominating possession in the early stages knocking the ball about well and switching the play when they needed to. Leon McKenzie was booked for a rash challenge setting the tone for a game with lots of aggressive play from Hornchurch.

On the 12th minute Thurrock took the lead as Sutton side footed the ball in after a soft clearance from a Joe Christou throw. The men in yellow and green celebrated knowing that if they kept this up they were heading to the final.

Soon after Hornchurch were on the counter attack as Abs Seymour showed great pace down the left. His cross was deflected and held well by Bobby Mason.

Mark Stimson’s side were defending resolutely and were well organised. Hornchurch’s attacks were minimal and the long ball tactic was used frequently.

On the 26th minute Sutton who was having a great game played a one-two with Charlie Stimson before carrying his run into the box, he was brought down but no penalty was given.

The Urchins missed a great chance to equalise as McKenzie was gifted a great chance but his effort from close range went straight to Mason.

The pitch had been dampened by a shower early in the second half. The ball was skidding across the surface and the conditions were causing problems for the players as Mark Onyemah received the ball in a good position but lost his footing on the slippery surface.

Another chance for Hornchurch was wasted as Hornchurch’s tactics of using the height of their front players to their advantage nearly paid off but Martin Tuohy’s header was placed over the bar.

With the half-time score at 1-0 Thurrock were in a strong position and Stimson would want more of the same from his players and they would be in the final.

A change was forced at the break as George Winn who got a knock in the first half was replaced by Reece Morgan.

The second half mirrored the first with Thurrock trying to play football passing it well but Hornchurch’s plan of going long did not add to the spectacle.

Hornchurch’s defence cleared from a Thurrock corner when the ball fell to Jordan Clark who took an ambitious effort from long range on the volley. However the shot fizzed wide of the target.

Substitute David Cowley was showing great skill and was causing problems for the opposition's defence. Fellow substitute Reece Morgan was putting some dangerous balls in to the Hornchurch box from the right wing..

After a late half hearted penalty shout from the visitors Thurrock saw out the remaining 5 minutes of extra time to keep their dreams of playing in the Isthmian Premier next season alive.

Thurrock will travel to Maldon on Sunday in the playoff final kick off 3pm.

Team:- Bobby Mason, Ronnie Winn, Remi Sutton, Richard Halle, Mark Onyemah (Jack Barham, 90 ), Joe Bruce, Jordan Clark, Glenn Poole, Charlie Stimson (David Cowley, 56), Joe Christou, George Winn (Reece Morgan, 45)
Unused:- Connor Wheatley, Michael Pindy
Attendance:- 481

Win a share of £250k for your club

Remi Sutton

Player of the Match

Remi Sutton

Key moments

Goal Remi Sutton scores for Thurrock


View 0 new events
90:00 Player of the Match
Remi Sutton is awarded player of the match for Thurrock
90:00 Clean Sheet Bonus
Bobby Mason keeps a clean sheet for Thurrock
90:00 Sub Off
Mark Onyemah is substituted off for Thurrock
90:00 Sub On
Jack Barham is substituted on for Thurrock
75:00 Yellow Card
Gary Cohen is yellow carded for AFC Hornchurch
73:00 Yellow Card
Teddy Nesbitt is yellow carded for AFC Hornchurch
70:00 Yellow Card
Martin Tuohy is yellow carded for AFC Hornchurch
66:00 Yellow Card
Mark Onyemah is yellow carded for Thurrock
65:00 Sub Off
Abs Thomson is substituted off for AFC Hornchurch
65:00 Sub On
Ross Wall is substituted on for AFC Hornchurch
65:00 Sub Off
Leon McKenzie is substituted off for AFC Hornchurch
65:00 Sub On
George Purcelll is substituted on for AFC Hornchurch
56:00 Sub On
David Cowley is substituted on for Thurrock
56:00 Sub Off
Charlie Stimson is substituted off for Thurrock
49:00 Sub On
Teddy Nesbitt is substituted on for AFC Hornchurch
49:00 Sub Off
Abs Seymour is substituted off for AFC Hornchurch
45:01 Sub On
Reece Morgan is substituted on for Thurrock
45:01 Sub Off
George Winn is substituted off for Thurrock
End of period 1
12:00 Goal 1 - 0
Remi Sutton scores for Thurrock
9:00 Yellow Card
Leon McKenzie is yellow carded for AFC Hornchurch
Start of the game
Replay game

As it happened

  • Thurrock
  • AFC Hornchurch
  • 0
  • Leon McKenzie Yellow Card 9:00'
  • Remi Sutton Goal 12:00'
  • Reece Morgan Sub On 45:01'
  • George Winn Sub Off 45:01'
  • Teddy Nesbitt Sub On 49:00'
  • Abs Seymour Sub Off 49:00'
  • David Cowley Sub On 56:00'
  • Charlie Stimson Sub Off 56:00'
  • George Purcelll Sub On 65:00'
  • Leon McKenzie Sub Off 65:00'
  • Ross Wall Sub On 65:00'
  • Abs Thomson Sub Off 65:00'
  • Mark Onyemah Yellow Card 66:00'
  • Martin Tuohy Yellow Card 70:00'
  • Teddy Nesbitt Yellow Card 73:00'
  • Gary Cohen Yellow Card 75:00'
  • Jack Barham Sub On 90:00'
  • Mark Onyemah Sub Off 90:00'

Team selection

Mason, Bobby Mason, Bobby
Winn, George Winn, George
Sutton, Remi Sutton, Remi
Halle, Richard Halle, Richard
Bruce, Joe Bruce, Joe
Clark, Jordan Clark, Jordan
Christou, Joe Christou, Joe
Winn, Ronnie Winn, Ronnie
Poole, Glenn Poole, Glenn
Onyemah, Mark Onyemah, Mark
Stimson, Charlie Stimson, Charlie
AFC Hornchurch
  • 1. Sam Mott
  • 2. Gary Cohen
  • 3. Alex Bentley
  • 4. Kenzer Lee
  • 5. Nathan Cooper
  • 6. Elliot Styles
  • 7. Abs Thomson
  • 8. Jed Chouman
  • 9. Leon McKenzie
  • 10. Martin Tuohy
  • 11. Abs Seymour
  • 12. Ross Wall
  • 13. .
  • 14. John Easterford
  • 15. Sam Bantick
  • 16. George Purcelll
  • 17. Teddy Nesbitt

Team sponsors


Club sponsors