Buccaneers - Match centre

Sat 26 Nov 12:00 - Tournament

Waid Buccaneers win St Andrews Day tournament

Waid Buccaneers made the short trip to St Andrews to participate in the St Andrews Day Veterans Tournament hosted by Madras Rugby Club.


This follows last year's successful inaugural tournament and has been renamed the Rikki Lees Memorial Tournament after the sad loss of the Madras Stalwart earlier in the year. Waid were competing against Hillfoots, Kinross and hosts Madras in a round robin tournament.

First up for the Buccaneers was a match against Hillfoots which Waid dominated to win 47-0. Waid's tries were scored by Eric Anderson (2), David Brown (2), Richard Dyce, Colin Drysdale and Alex Reed. Conversions were added by Mick McCowan and Bill Hughes.

Next up for the Buccs was a tricky fixture against Kinross which Waid won the hard way. After early pressure failed to pay off, Kinross broke to score and lead 5-0 at half-time. Waid made full use of their squad and playing into a testing win, scored two 2nd half tries from Iain Brocklebank and Richard Dyce to seal the victory 10-5.

This set up things nicely for a decider in the final game of the day between Waid and Madras and a winner takes all scenario. Waid had lost the corresponding fixture last year and were in no mood to slip up again. From the start, Waid produced crash ball from back row pair Eric Anderson and Iain Brocklebank to open up a massive hole in the Madras defence. Alex Reed was in perfect support to round of the move and give Waid a flying start. This was to be the only score of the game as both teams produced some magnificent defence to keep the other out. Tensions increased as the game progressed and Madras lost their Argentinian coach to a red card following a bust-up off the ball and Waid lock Colin Drysdale also retired from the game with a shoulder injury as the physicality of the game took its toll. Waid hung on in the end and Buccaneers skipper Mick McCowan received the trophy from Gill Lees, widow of Rikki.


Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.


Loading comments


Club sponsors