First Team - Match centre

Warrington Town
Sat 17 Mar 15:00 - The Evo-Stik League Northern Premier - First Division North Full time Attendance 210

Clitheroe 2-0 Warrington Town

Dissapointing Defeat For Town


Warrington Town's outside chance of a play off place took a possible decisive knock back following a 2-0 defeat at the hands of lowly Clitheroe.

Both sides started slowly on the unusual sloping pitch at Shawbridge, with the best early chance falling to visiting midfielder Matt Cross, who saw his shot kicked off the line, after a poor clearance by Clitheroe keeper, Zack Hibbert.

Both sides gradually wore into the game, but Town were having the best of the play with Town midfielder Dale Wright shooting over, before Allan Collins saw his looping header fall onto the roof of the net. The home side hadn't looked like threatening the Town goal, until they were awarded a penalty in the 24th minute, defender River Humphreys adjudged to have wrestled Clitheroe striker Alex Johnson to the ground, midfielder Ollie Devenney stepping up to dispatch the penalty despite the best efforts of Paul Pritchard, who went the right way.

As Warrington went pushing forward for an equaliser, the assistant referee Mr Kellett, was forced to leave the field and the game continued with only two officials.

As the half wore on, the home side began to take control of the proceedings, striker Olobi Kuba-Kuba shot over, as did midfielder Nat Taylor shortly afterwards. Just before half time, a new official was found, which turned out to be none other than former Warington Town manager Paul Moore, who joined proceedings to run the line.

On the stroke of half time, the visitors created their best chance of the game, Dale Wright playing a one two with Chris Thompson, but Wright saw his shot blocked at close range by Hibbert.

Once again at the start of the second half, Clitheroe were in control of proceedings, Kuba-Kuba forcing Pritchard into a fine low save. Midfielder Kyle Hamid went close for Warrington soon after, shooting over when well placed. Pritchard was called into action once again soon after, when he denied defender Chris Smalley at close range.

The same player went close soon after, heading narrowly wide, before fellow defender Lee Pugh also did, seeing his free kick well saved by Pritchard.

The introduction of Gavin Salmon and Ross Farron from the bench gave Warrington fresh impetus, with Owen Roberts shooting narrowly over soon after.

With just under a quarter of the match remaining, Town had what looked like a stone wall penalty turned down as Pugh felled Mike Duffy on the edge of the penalty area, but assistant referee Mr Brownsett only pointed for a corner, despite the defender appearing not to touch the ball.

With ten minutes left, the home side made sure of the points, midfielder Devenney seeing his free kick from wide out go straight in, past a stranded Pritchard, who appeared to miss his attempted punch in a packed penalty area. Try as they might, Warrington could not fashion an opportunity to test Hibbert, and the closest either side came to another goal, was when substitute Ross Dent saw his header fall onto the roof of Pritchard's goal

Clitheroe Team:
Zack Hibbert, Chris Smalley, Lee Pugh (C), Jack Higgins, Sam Christensen ( Matty Fearon , 49 ), Connor Smith, Nat Taylor, Oliver Devenney, Glodi Kuba-Kuba ( Andrew Naylor , 66 ), Alex Johnson, James Davis ( Ross Dent , 73 )

Clitheroe Subs Not Used:
John Osemwegie, Joe Roberts

Warrington Town Team:
Paul Pritchard, Mick Duffy, Owen Roberts, River Humphreys, Mike Tomlinson (C), Matt Cross, Dale Wright, Kyle Hamid, Allan Collins, Chris Thompson ( Ross Farron , 64 ), Liam Shipton ( Gavin Salmon , 64 )

Warrington Town Subs Not uUsed:
Andy Heald, David Ness, Nick Jackson


Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.

League round up

Other First Division North results

AFC Fylde
Radcliffe Borough
Skelmersdale United
Woodley Sports
Salford City

League table

# Team Pd Pts
1. AFC Fylde 42 99
2. Curzon Ashton 42 92
3. Witton Albion 42 90
4. Farsley FC 42 81
5. Garforth Town 42 79
6. Lancaster City 42 77
7. Skelmersdale United 42 75
8. Woodley Sports 42 71

Team sponsors


Club sponsors