Important Club Announcement

3 months ago By Andrea Davidson


It is with great pleasure that Firwood Waterloo can confirm its' Ladies team has been awarded one of the coveted positions within the new women’s rugby premiership structure.

“There has been massive commitments to women’s rugby over recent years to nurture and support the growth of the game and this competition is another step in the right direction. Firwood Waterloo as a whole are extremely excited to playing its' part in this bright future.”

RFU Press Release

Issued by Rugby Football Union

The Rugby Football Union (RFU) has today announced the 10 clubs that have been offered places, subject to contract, in the new women’s domestic competition from September 2017.
Women’s Super Rugby is a major development for the women’s game in England and will significantly raise the standards of rugby domestically and help support the Red Roses’ ambition to be the number one team in the world. It is also expected to help grow participation and create new commercial partnerships to help underpin the competition.
Following a rigorous and independently-chaired application process, the 10 successful teams that have been offered a place in the Women’s Super Rugby, subject to contract, are:
• Bristol Ladies Rugby Ltd
• Darlington Mowden Park Sharks
• Firwood Waterloo Ladies
• Harlequin FC
• Gloucester-Hartpury Women’s RFC
• Loughborough Students (Lightning)
• Richmond FC
• Saracens Women
• Wasps FC Ladies
• Worcester Warriors RFC

All applicants will be required to deliver against a set of minimum operating standards, which are designed to create an infrastructure within the clubs to support an increasingly professional game.

The key focus of these minimum standards include:
• To develop a professional coaching resource to support players in training throughout the week
• To provide teams with regular and expert sports science support and medical provision for both training and match-days
• To improve the training and playing environment.

The competition will receive a multi-million pound investment from the RFU over the next three years to help deliver the minimum standards expected and provide high-quality coaching, facilities, training environments and community engagement plans.
The announcement reflects the increasing popularity and success of women’s rugby in England following the Red Roses’ success of winning the Women’s Rugby World Cup in 2014 and Great Britain playing in the first sevens competition of the Olympic Games last year in Rio.

This season has seen the RFU announce its ambitions to double the number of women and girls playing rugby to 50,000 and the arrival of 15-a-side professional contracts ahead of eagerly anticipated Women’s Rugby World Cup in August this year.
RFU Director of Professional Rugby Nigel Melville said: “This is another significant development for women’s rugby in this country. Women’s Super Rugby will drive standards in the game, both domestically and at an elite level, and continue to encourage more women and girls to play the sport.

“I would like to congratulate the 10 clubs on their successful applications which have resulted in them being offered a place in the new competition. We now have the opportunity to build a world-class domestic competition, with the backing and funding of the RFU, demonstrating the union’s commitment to growing the game at all levels.”
RFU Head of Women’s Performance Nicky Ponsford added: “We are really excited about the innovative opportunity that Women’s Super Rugby gives us to reach new participants and attract new fans to the game, and we are determined to make the most of this opportunity.”

Women’s Super Rugby, will commence its first season of the professionalised format of the RFU women’s domestic competition in September 2017, and is the first tier of the women’s English rugby union league system run by the Rugby Football Union. It will be contested by 10 English clubs.
The competition's structure has all the teams playing each other on a home and away basis. The top four teams at the end of the home-and-way season qualify for the play-offs which follow a 1 v 4, 2 v 3 system. The two winners will play in the final. All clubs will have to meet the RFU's Minimum Standards Criteria to remain in the competition. There is no promotion or relegation in the first two seasons of the competition.
Further information on the Women’s Super Rugby competition will be announced over the coming months.

Updated 17:11 - 28 Feb 2017 by Andrea Davidson

Where next?


Loading comments
Sat 29 Apr
League 8 – 7
Sat 22 Apr
League 14 – 29
3rd XV Prenton 2
League 41 – 15

News sponsors


Club sponsors