Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Waverley Cricket Club app


AGM report

1 year ago By Adam Carmichael

The key points and decisions from Waverley's annual meeting of minds...

The 66th Waverley Cricket Club annual general meeting was held at the Farnham Liberal Club on 17 February 2017 at 2000 hours. In attendance were Herb Scarth ("Bertie"), Neil Carmichael ("Hoagy"), Peter Brewer ("Mr B"), Marcus Carmichael ("MC"), Adrian Day ("Mog"), James Wright ("Mongo"), Adam Carmichael ("AC"), Jamie Harris ("DJ Teabag"), Chris Beanland ("Beanie") and Russ Golding ("Raoul").

After the members took onboard some liquid refreshment, the meeting commenced with a missive from the skipper, Matt Du Gay (who was unable to attend). Doogs expressed his thanks to the club for three enjoyable years as captain but indicated that he would be unable to continue in the role. The club would also like to express their thanks to Doogs for his sterling work as club captain.

The minutes of the previous meeting and the club balance sheet were approved in relatively short order and with that, it was onto the business of the election of club officers. Hoagy was re-elected unchallenged as the Club Chairman and Mongo was elected as Club Captain for the 2017 season. Both Beanie and Teabag were nominated for the role of Vice-Captain and by the Chairman's casting vote, Beanie was elected to the position. Bertie was once again elected as Club Secretary; however it was agreed that the members would give serious thought to separating the roles of Club Secretary and Fixture Secretary, with the role of Fixture Secretary ideally being taken by a regular player in the team. Mongo was appointed as Club Treasurer and Raoul was named as the Child Protection Officer.

It was agreed that subscriptions and match fees would remain unchanged for the 2017 season. Subscriptions (which include the cost of net sessions) will be £30 for adults and £10 for juniors. Match fees will be £8 for adults and £5 for juniors/uniformed members of Her Majesty's armed forces.

Turning to the review of fixtures, Bertie announced that three new fixtures had been secured against Farley Hill, Crown Taveners and Whiteditch Rams. This left only one gap in the fixture list on 11 June 2017 [nb: the Thursley game has now been rescheduled for this date, leaving a gap on 7 May].

Turning to the award of trophies, there was no vote at the AGM as voting had already taken place in October 2016 (the intention having been to hold another quiz and awards night, which unfortunately did not come to pass). The awards were as follows:

Batsman of the Year: James Wright
Bowler of the Year: Peter Brewer
Player of the Year: Matt Du Gay

There was also a special award presented to Mr B, who became only the third Waverley player to take 1,000 wickets for the club during the course of the 2016 season.

The penultimate item on the agenda was 2017 net sessions, which are again being held at All Hallows school every Monday, from 2100 to 2200 hours until 10 April 2017. As ever, do try and make every effort to attend. With no other business, the meeting duly closed at 2059 hours.

Updated 11:26 - 9 Mar 2017 by Adam Carmichael

Where next?

Happy birthday, Mr B! Senior pro refutes rumours that he'll buy every Waverley player a drink in celebration...
Fixture change Thursley match moved to 11 June 2017.

Video Advertising


Loading comments

Sun 16 Sep
Friendly 248/7 – 249/8
Sat 15 Sep
Friendly 285/7 – 235/8
Sun 9 Sep
Friendly 146 – 142/7

News sponsors

Club sponsors