News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
Brockenhurst FC 2 Baffins Milton Rovers FC 3 Match report

Brockenhurst FC 2 Baffins Milton Rovers FC 3 Match report

Julio Perez23 Feb 2020 - 08:40
Share via

Brockenhurst FC 2 Baffins Milton Rovers FC 3 Match report

Brockenhurst FC 2 Baffins Milton Rovers FC 3

They may have left it late, but Rovers are still in with a shout of retaining the Wessex League Cup, after a thrilling win in the New Forest.

An injury time winner, with the game heading to a penalty shootout, ensured it was Baffins who have a home time against AFC Stoneham in the next round and not their hosts.

Rovers fell behind to their hosts, despite a positive start on a very heavy pitch and went into the half time break trailing by two goals to one.

The second half was a different story as Rovers showed just why they won the cup last season, with true character to come from behind before winning the time, with the game appearing to be heading to a penalty shootout.

Despite the positive start Rovers were one down in the 16th minute when a long clearance from keeper Jon Webb found Will Tickle, who turned inside before unleashing a drive which rebounded of the crossbar and into the path of Mitchell Speechley - Price, who fired home the rebound.

Having said that Rovers had previously been lucky to escape when Speechley - Price had headed can a Tickle free kick against the post.

Having gone behind Callum Dart was denied levelling the scores by Webb, who denied him at his near post, after the Baffins player found space on the left.

Again the woodwork was to save Baffins when a break down the right through Tickle, saw the ball played back to Jude Nwachukwu, who cross field ball was met and thundered against the post, by Speechley - Price.

To make matters worse for the hosts they found themselves back on level terms when Webb failed to deal with a Robbie Taw corner at his near post and Tom Froggatt was on hand to finish off from close range at the far post in the 24th minute.

Two minutes later and Speechley - Price regained the hosts lead when Leon Carbayo - Borges broke down the left and was given time to pick out the striker, who thundered an effort back past Cameron Scott.

Another Baffins corner caused concern for Brockenhurst, who failed to clear matters and although Taw's ball in was flicked on at the near post, Dale Mason rifled wide at the far post.

Just before the beak and a neat Baffins move saw Tyler Moret play the ball wide for Dart whose cross was cleared to just outside the box and met by Tommy Scutt, who volleyed an effort straight down the thrust of Webb.

H/T 2-1

Within minutes of the restart Taw broke down the right, before finding Moret, whose lay off found Tommy Tierney, whose goal bound effort was deflected wide.

Scott then denied Tickle, when he tipped his effort over the top, having seen a corner cleared back into the path of the winger.

Anything you can do, I can do said Webb, who denied Mason at the other end, turning his effort over the bar.

There was nothing Webb could do however to prevent Mason levelling the scores in the 57th minute, when the Baffins man was first to reach a lay off from Moret and thunder an effort across the keeper and into the far corner.

Moret was causing all sorts of problems for the hosts and enjoying lots of the ball and when he found Dart, it looked inevitable that he would give Baffins the lead, but having raced clear, he fired across goal and wide.

Minutes later and another corner was partially cleared to Taw, who thumped an effort against the post, with Webb well and truly beaten.

Still Baffins looked for the winner and Ben Spranger headed a free kick straight at Webb, whilst Tierney fired over the top on the break.

Substitute Joe McLean should have won he game late on, but having broke clear he just couldn't get the ball out of his feet and Dart nipped in, before seeing his effort deflected wide.

The game was won however by Tierney deep in stoppage time when a Baffins corner was cleared out to the midfielder whose effort at goal was deflected past Webb.

Baffins:- Scott, Taw, Miller, Cornish, Froggatt, Spranger, Tierney, Scutt, Moret, Dart, Mason

Subs:- Dean, McLean, Gladipupo, Grimshaw, Blankson

Further reading