Seven Rockets Shortlisted for North East Awards

Seven Rockets Shortlisted for North East Awards

By Jeff Ball
13th August
Share via

Best in the region to be recognised next month.

The shortlist for the 2019 NERL Awards ceremony to be held at Kingston Park Stadium on Friday 13th September has been revealed.

14 different clubs are recognised, with Gateshead Storm leading the way with 8 nominations, followed by Yarm Wolves & Cramlington Rockets tied with 7 nominations and new boys West View Warriors and Hartlepool Hurricanes with two nominations each.

1st team player Joey Bell is up for North East Player of the Year, Alfie Taggart is up for U12s player of the year, and teammates Isaac Keller and James Snowden are going head-to-head for U14s Player of the Year.

From the coaching staff, U14s Coach Phil Stephenson is up for Junior Coach of the Year and Minis Coach, John Downes is in the running for Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year while Nicola Petterson marks her first year as Team Manager with a nomination for Volunteer of the Year.

Listed without clubs to indicate their independence as referees, there are also four Rockets up for the various independent Match Official awards: Jordan Robinson and Richard Robinson for Match Official of the Year and Alex Donaghy and Mark Roberts for Young Match Official of the Year.

“North East Rugby League has shown another year of growth” said Newcastle Thunder General Manager, Jordan Robinson.

“The fact there are is 14 different clubs from across the region shows the strength of the game.

Participation is on the up but not only that, we are seeing the quality of the junior game increase every year.

I look forward to welcoming the NERL community down to another sell out awards night.”

Nominees will be contacted by the club to arrange attendance.

North East Rugby League Award Night Nominations in full

U12’s Player of the Year

Elijah Delaidriti – Catterick Crusaders
Alfie Taggart – Cramlington Rockets
Seth Clapham – Catterick Crusaders
Noah Hill – Hartlepool Hurricanes
Riley Evans – Gateshead Storm
Ethan Patrick – Whitley Bay Barbarians

U14’s Player of the Year

Lewis Richardson – Gateshead Storm
Ollie Shaw – Yarm Wolves
Isaac Keller – Cramlington Rockets
Joe Whitehouse – Catterick Crusaders
Ewan Hargreaves – Whitley Bay Barbarians
James Snowdon – Cramlington Rockets

U16’s Player of the Year

Tyler Hepple – Gateshead Storm
Elliot Shaw – Yarm Wolves
Evan Lawther – Gateshead Storm
Lennox Barry – Yarm Wolves
Jake Anderson – Gateshead Storm

Primary Rules Volunteer of the Year

Adam Coburn – Catterick Crusaders
Garry Palmer – Yarm Wolves
John Downes – Cramlington Rockets
Rob Philips – Alnwick Bears
Darren Greco – Wallsend Centurions

Volunteer of the Year

George Taylor – Jarrow Vikings
Rob Jones – Gateshead Storm
Nicola Petterson – Cramlington Rockets
Kieran Taylor – Peterlee Pumas
Alix Bowler – Yarm Wolves
Conrad and Jenna Stewart – Alnwick Bears

Young Volunteer of the Year

Leon Kelly – Yarm Wolves
Joseph Gorman – Durham Tigers
Craig Banks – Gateshead Storm

Match Official of the Year

Richard Robinson
Denis Nowell
Jordan Robinson
Paul Clarke

Young Match Official of the Year

Alex Donaghy
Matty Lynn
Tyler Walton
Mark Roberts

Junior Coach of the Year

Paul Thompson – Hartlepool Hurricanes U12’s
Ricky Lee & Gavin Cole – Catterick Crusaders U12’s
Nigel Froggatt – Gateshead Storm U14’s
Phil Shaw – Yarm Wolves U14’s
Phil Stephenson – Cramlington Rockets U14’s

Men’s Coach of the Year

Adam Houston – Jarrow Vikings
Anthony Lawrence – West View Warriors
Craig Robertson – Edinburgh Eagles
Jake Egglestone – Durham Tigers

Young Player of the Year

Adam Hay – Wallsend Eagles
James Cook – Durham Demons
Euan Kitching – Durham Tigers
Olly Bale – Catterick Crusaders
Lucas Reid – Edinburgh Eagles
Max Filby – West View Warriors

Player of the Year

Tom Clarke – Durham Tigers
Mikey Mair – Edinburgh Eagles
Jason Payne – Jarrow Vikings
Phil Gorman – West View Warriors
Jimmy Baldwin – Wallsend Eagles
Joey Bell – Cramlington Rockets

Share via