Constitution and Rules
(as amended at 7th June 2007)

(a)The Club shall be called Dunfermline Rugby Football Club
(b)The objects of the Club shall be to encourage and develop interest in Rugby Football as administered by the Scottish Rugby Union of which body it shall be a member.

(a)The membership of the Club shall consist of Junior (under 18 years of age), Playing, Patrons, Country and Honorary Members, all as hereinafter provided.
(b)Membership, other then Country Membership, shall be open only to members of Dunfermline Sports Club of which Dunfermline Rugby Football Club shall be the Rugby Section.
(c)Subject to clause (b) hereof no application for membership will be refused on other than reasonable grounds. There will be no discrimination on grounds of race, occupation, sex or religious, political or other opinion.
(d)A member, or prospective candidate for membership, of the Dunfermline Sports Club, wishing to become a member of Dunfermline Rugby Football Club or an individual wishing to become a Country Member of Dunfermline Rugby Football Club shall submit an application in writing to the Secretary and such candidates shall be proposed and seconded by two members of the Dunfermline Rugby Football Club who must have been members of the Club for at least one year.
The names and addresses of persons proposed for membership shall be displayed in a conspicuous place in the Club premises for at least a week prior to their election, and an interval of at least two weeks shall elapse between the nomination and election of members.
Every member shall have the right to intimate an objection to any application for membership.

All members of the Club shall be elected by simple majority of the Management Committee, who shall have the power to reject an application for membership.
(e)Patrons – Non-playing members who contribute such annual subscription as may be fixed at the Annual General Meeting, in addition to their subscription to Dunfermline Sports Club, shall be considered Patrons of the Club and their names shall be included in the Fixture Card for the following season.
(f)Country Membership – At the sole discretion of the Management Committee a non-playing member or a non-playing prospective member residing at a considerable distance from Dunfermline who could not normally avail himself of the facilities of the Sports Club shall be considered a Country Member. Such a member shall contribute as a Patron excluding, however, the subscription due to the Dunfermline Sports Club and his name shall be included in the Fixture Card for the following season.
(g)Honorary Membership – The Management Committee may appoint as an Honorary Member any person who, in the opinion of that Committee, is deemed worthy of the appointment. Such members shall have all the privileges of membership.
(h)The Constitution and Rules – will be displayed at all times on the Club’s Notice Board and copies will be available on request from the Secretary.
(i)Resignation – Any member wishing to resign his membership of the Club must give notice in writing to the Secretary prior to the date of the Annual General Meeting, failing which the subscription for the financial year which has then commenced, will be due by the member.

(j)Suspension – The Management Committee will have the power to suspend or expel any member who shall offend against the Rules or Bye-Laws of the Club or whose conduct in the opinion of the Management Committee renders him unfit for membership of the Club. No member shall be expelled without first having the opportunity of appearing before the Management Committee and answering the complaint made against him, nor unless at least two thirds of the Committee then present vote in favour of his expulsion.

(a)The Office Bearers of the Club shall consist of an Honorary President, four or more Honorary Vice-Presidents, a President, a Vice-President, an Honorary Secretary, an Honorary Treasurer, an Honorary Match Secretary, Team Secretaries, and the Captain and Vice-Captain of the Club, who shall be elected at the Annual General Meeting of the Club; All Office Bearers shall be eligible for re-election.
(b)The business and affairs of the Club shall be entrusted to a Management Committee consisting of the President, Vice-President, Immediate Past President, Secretary, Treasurer, Match Secretary, Captain and Vice-Captain of the Club, the Chairman of the Selection Committee, the Convener of the Social Committee and ten members. The aforesaid ten members shall be elected at the Club’s Annual General Meeting and shall be eligible for re-election. Preference for four of the member’s positions will be given to players. The Management Committee shall have full powers to deal with anything connected with the Club, including the co-option of a member of the Club to fill a casual vacancy on the Committee, but nothing herein contained shall in any way interfere with the jurisdiction and powers of the Scottish Rugby Union over the Club and its members. Five members of the Management Committee shall form a quorum.
(c)The Management Committee will nominate members of the Club, not necessarily members of the Management Committee to serve on the Management Committee of Dunfermline Sports Club.
(d)The Secretary shall present his report of the past season’s activities to the Annual General Meeting.
(e)The Secretary and Treasurer may be empowered by the Management Committee to sanction all expenditure of money necessarily incurred by the Selection Committee in the carrying out of all matches and practices.
(f)The financial year of the Club shall end on 30th