2016/17 Season Format

2016/17 Season Format

By Paul Sergeant
10 June 2016
Share via

Big changes announced at last nights AGM

This coming season the League confirmed that there will be 4 divisions of 16 teams apart from the Premier Division which will have 17 teams. They also announced that for season 2017/18 they will accept new clubs who don't quite make the ground grading requirements and if sufficient clubs enter then they may revert back to Premier, Divisions One & Two and Two Reserve Divisions.

For this coming season all divisions will operate two up two down apart from the Premier League which may have to relegate 3 teams.

The Premier Division has lost Charnock Richard who have gone up to the North West Counties and either Burnley United or Eagley will be relegated. Eagley originally finished bottom of the table but Burnley have been charged with playing an ineligible player on the last match of the season and if found guilty will lose 6 points and therefore drop down to the relegation spot. This is subject to an appeal. So with Turton and Tempest United being promoted the odd one out so to speak is Whitehaven FC who have been moved sideways by the Football Association into the Premier League as they attempt to join the North West Counties in season 2017/18. If they do then only two clubs will face relegation subject to the usual ground grading requirements of the top two from Division One.

So the make up of the Premier Division is:
Blackpool Wren Rovers
Burnley United or Eagley
Coppull United
Crooklands Casuals
Euxton Villa
Fulwood Amateurs
Hesketh Bank AFC
Longridge Town
Lostock St. Gerards
Southport Hesketh
Tempest United
Thornton Cleveleys

The 1st Division will consist of:
Askam United
Burnley United or Eagley
Burscough Richmond
Dalton United
GSK Ulverston Rangers
Haslingden St Marys
Hawcoat Park
Hurst Green
Lytham Town
Mill Hill St Peters
Milnthorpe Corinthians
Wyre Villa

In Division 2 the remaining 1st team clubs apart from Bolton County who have left to re-join the Manchester League will be joined by the top 8 reserve team clubs apart from Charnock Richard Reserves who have also left as follows:
Croston Sports
Furness Cavaliers
Furness Rovers
Kendal County
Leyland United
Walney Island
Blackpool Wren Rovers Res
Burscough Richmond Res
Coppull United Res
Euxton Villa Res
Fulwood Amateurs Res A
Garstang Res
Hurst Green Res
Thornton Cleveleys Res

Division 4 will be made up of the rest of the reserve team sides with the addition of a second reserve team for Fulwood Amateurs. The rules regarding this are that any reserve team player can step up to play for the 1st team but will need to be transferred in the normal way if they want to switch to either of the two reserve teams. So that leaves the make-up of this division as follows:
Croston Sports Res
Eagley Res
Fulwood Amateurs Res B
Haslingden St Marys Res
Hesketh Bank AFC Res
Ladybridge Res
Lostock St Gerards Res
Lytham Town Res
Mill Hill St. Peters Res
Milnthorpe Corinthians Res
Poulton Res
Stoneclough Res
Tempest United Res
Turton Res
Wyre Villa Res

In addition each division will have its own cup competition and the season will start on Saturday 6th August.

Share via