Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official King's Rugby - KCS Old Boys RFC app


Surrey Rugby Awards 2019

By Tom Moore

King's collect three trophies at the 2018-19 Surrey Rugby awards night.

Last week 19 King's players and representatives headed to the Stoop to attend the annual Surrey Rugby awards night, this year hosted by our former 1XV captain (1980-81) and Club President (2012-17) Darryl Druckman who is the incumbent Surrey Rugby President following in the footsteps of John Hamilton (KCS President 1985-96; Surrey President 1999-2001).

On the night King's were one of the more decorated clubs attending as George Taylor collected the prize on behalf of the 1XV for winning London 2SW whilst Mike Hill and Lorcan O'Duffy collected the 2XV's award for winning the Conference North.

In addition to these awards, which the players knew they would be collecting, the Surrey Chairman Nigel Heslop also presented Sam Richards and Jonny Kiddle with the discretionary Chairman's Award in recognition of King's 'Perfect Season' of 22 bonus point wins.

The keynote speaker was the recently retired BBC commentator Ian Robertson who regaled the room with numerous anecdotes from his colourful career including, famously, commentating on Jonny Wilkinson's 2003 RWC winning drop-goal, made easier as Scotsman he told the room as he had laid a small wager on the outcome so the excitement in his voice was not just down to the occasion but also the certain knowledge his bet had come in!

All of these presentations and selection of additional images from the night can be seen in the Surrey Rugby Awards 2019 album on the website.

Updated 21:02 - 30 May 2019 by Tom Moore

Where next?

1XV Fixtures 2019-20 The London 1 South fixtures have been released.
Paddy Ralston: Unsung Hero At their inaugural awards lunch held at Harlequins' Stoop our very own Paddy was presented with an Unsung Hero award by The Rugby Paper.


Loading comments

Sat 7 Sep
League 15:00
Sat 14 Sep
League 15:00

News sponsors


Club sponsors