By Druids RFC
15 May 2018
Share via

Congratulations to Brock Ian Gallagher and 2 other Alberta young men,who are off to the Under 20 men’s tomorrow.

Chaired by Karl Fix, the group is separate from Rugby Canada but has the blessing and co-operation of the national body. Fix is joined by Pat Parfrey, Mike Holmes, Bill Webb, Andrew Purdey and David Robertson, all of whom have committed to the success of this age-group.

The Group has already supported the under-20 coaching staff in crafting and facilitating the training camps, matches and team-building activities that will ultimately give these young players the best chance of success in the two match qualifiers against the USA in June and, of course, thereafter in Romania. The players will be in camp at Shawnigan Lake School from the 16th of May until the 7th of June with matches as follows:

Saturday, May 26
Canada U20 vs. loser of Fraser Valley/Vancouver
Westhills Stadium, Langford, BC
(kick off TBD)

Friday, June 1st
Canada U20 vs. BC U-23
Abbotsford, BC
(kick off TBD)

Tuesday, June 12th
Canada U-20 vs USA U-20
USA (location TBA)
(kick off TBD)

Tuesday, June 16th
Canada U-20 vs USA U-20
USA (location TBA)
(kick off TBD)

More news will be forthcoming shortly on this exciting new initiative as the group is also working on a long-term, sustainable strategic plan. The future starts now - Young, Red and Ready - Go Canada!

David B. Robertson


If Canada qualifies for the World Rugby Trophy it will be played in Bucharest, Romania August 24 to Sept 10 and will be preceded by a camp in Shawnigan Lake School Aug 15-23.

Canada’s Under-20 Men’s Team long list:

Damon Adams – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Hammad Babatunde – Assassins RFC (Winnipeg, MB)
Stanislaus Blazkowski – Racing Club Narbonne (Montreal, QC)
Steven Commerford – Brock University (Toronto, ON)
Spencer Cooper – UVIC Vikes (Vancouver, BC)
Reid Davis – Bayside RFC (Surrey, BC)
Peyton Eager – Nanaimo Hornets (Nanaimo, BC)
Joshua Engelbrecht – Queen’s University (Toronto, ON)
Elias Ergas – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Mostyn Findley – UVIC Vikes (Regina, SK)
Aidan Foley – Western University (Toronto, ON)
*Brock Gallagher – Druids RFC/James Bay AA (Edmonton, AB)
Ethan Hager – UVIC Vikes (ON)
James Hammond – Toronto Nomads (Toronto, ON)
Peter Ingoldsby – Exmouth RFC (England)
Quentin James – Perpignan (Vancouver, BC)
John Jubenvil – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Gavin Kratz – UVIC Vikes (Victoria, BC)
John Lan – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Stephen Mallard – Swiler’s RFC (St. John’s, NL)
Jackson Marquardt – Concordia University (Montreal, QC)
Logan Martin-Feek – UVIC Vikes (Victoria, BC)
Jackson Matthews – UVIC Vikes (Montreal, QC)
Jack McCarthy – Vandals RFC (St, John’s, NL)
Jack McRogers – McMaster University (Toronto, ON)
Jordon Montgomery – Castaway Wanderers (Charlottetown, PEI)
Ben Newhook – Vandals RFC (St, John’s, NL)
Evan Norris – UBC Thunderbirds (Victoria, BC)
*James O’Neill – UVIC Vikes (Cochrane, AB)
Will Percillier – UBC Thunderbirds (Victoria, BC)
*Alex Pipchuk – Queen’s University (Toronto, ON)
Emerson Prior – Trent University (Toronto, ON)
Brennig Prevost – UVIC Vikes (Victoria, BC)
Seth Purdey – UCal at Berkeley (Shawnigan Lake, BC)
Tyler Rowland – UBC Thunderbirds (Toronto, ON)
Owain Ruttan – UBC Thunderbirds (Toronto, ON)
Brandon Schellenberg – Castaway Wanderers (Victoria, BC)
Harrison Smith – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Michael Smith – UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Henry Stevenson – Toronto Nomads (Toronto, ON)
David Stoltz – Barrhaven Scottish (Ottawa, ON)
Sam Turner - UBC Thunderbirds (Vancouver, BC)
Kevin Vertkas – UBC Thunderbirds (Toronto, ON)
Tyler Wong – UVIC Vikes (Vancouver, BC

Share via