The Wetherby Rugby League Club was formed in 1983 by a nucleus of players from the disbanded Thorp Arch Club.

They played their first season in the York and District Sunday League Division 2. After 4 years of steady progress Wetherby won the League Cup, The York and District Cup and the Invitation Cup in 1987. Nine of the team that season were selected to represent the York and District Area.

Wetherby moved to a higher standard of rugby when they played in Division 4 of the Yorkshire Saturday League in 1992.

In 1993 Wetherby won the Yorkshire and District Invitation Cup but failed to win any more silverware or promotion until 1996 when Wetherby went from strength to strength winning the Division 4 league and narrowly losing in the final of the Frank Bowers Cup.

The 1997/98 season proved to be the most successful to date. Wetherby were now in the Yorkshire League Division 2 after jumping two leagues. Wetherby won the league without losing a game and also went on to win the top four play off and the White Rose Cup, all the finals being played at Post Office Road, Featherstone.

In 1999 Wetherby were now in Yorkshire League Division 1.

to be continued........