2007 - Back to Back Titles!
Wyre CC History 7 of 19

7. 2007 - Back to Back Titles!

The 2007 season was one of the wettest on record! Cottam Hall was rarely above water but the season was somehow squeezed in, with many rearrangements and NRs. Wyre managed to reach the Stuart Cup final against newcomers Thornton IV. A two innings of 20 overs match was fiercely contested at Blackpool CC, with great fielding, batting collapses and humourous sledging! Thornton emerged as victors in an enjoyably competitive match. However in the league, one of the most interesting title battles was fought with 4 clubs going into the final month of the season capable of winning the championship. Thornton IV, Wyre, Blackpool IV and St Annes IV all had played well during the season, but Wyre CC just emerged victorious. Unfortunately the season was marred by the FCL committee having to deduct points on numerous occasions from clubs fielding slightly dubious team selections, but a great contest for the league was enjoyed by all.