Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Cogenhoe United Football Club app


Cogenhoe United

Cogenhoe United's club shield was derived from the Coat of Arms, of the De Cogenhoe family, who were the village squires from 100 AD. The original colours were red and silver cross pieces with diamonds, however the club adopted blue and gold as our colours.

The early days of Cogenhoe were not documented and are now obscured by the mist of time. Inter village friendlies gradually led to membership of the now extinct Central Village League. As typical with village football, a variety of pitches were 'home' until in 1950 the first game, against Northampton Yeomanry, was played on the then new playing field.

After some modest success, United ceased to exist sometime after 1958, to be reformed as the current club for the 1967/68 football season. Competing in the Central Northants Football Combination and by 1978, the club had progressed from the Second Division into the Premier Division. In a six year period thirteen winners' and six runners-up trophies were won.

Development of facilities became paramount to enable promotion into the United Counties Football League. The club secured the lease on 3.6 acres of agricultural land from the Marquis of Northampton and Compton Park was now on the map.

New purpose built facilities were developed together with a new spectator stand which gained us promotion into the UCFL, for the season 1985/86. The first competitive match at Compton Park was our final match in the Central Combination, when The Cooks defeated Bugbrooke St.Michaels, 1-0 with Jason Moore scoring the historic first goal. Compton Park was officially opened when Ron Atkinson, then manager of Manchester United brought a team to play in the inaugural game.

On 17th August 1985, Cogenhoe United played their first UCFL game losing at home to Mirlees Blackstone. The club were forced to apply for re-election and Dave Conlon took over the helm in the summer of 1986. The Cook's gained promotion to the Premier Division at the end of Dave Conlon's first season finishing runners-up to Baker Perkins. Stephen Brockwell who succeeded ex-Liverpool and England full back, Phil Neal, as President ensured facilities were met and promotion was gained.

A youth policy was adopted beginning a trend of supplying local quality players to the senior team, with Darren Harmon and Darren Bazeley progressing into the professional game. Matthew Murphy also made this progression via Corby Town.

The Cooks entered the F.A. Vase for the first time in 1988/89 and at the end of the season, Brian Foley stepped down as Chairman after 21 years loyal service. This achievement was recognised and Brian was elected Vice President of the United Counties Football League.

Derek Wright took over as Club Chairman and immediately set up a major fund raising campaign to ensure floodlighting was erected in 1992, and ensured senior status was maintained. This was achieved to mark the club's Silver Jubilee in that year.

Cogenhoe United Under-18's side was elected to the Northamptonshire Senior Youth League in 1991/92 and won the Championship at the first attempt. This was followed with the excellent news that further land was obtained for youth pitches to be developed.

The first team entered the F.A. Cup for the first time in 1994/95.

After an extremely successful 13 years at the helm, Dave Conlon retired as manager in 1997/98 season and Steve Forbes took over the reigns with Dino Cirrelli assisting.

In the subsequent three seasons Steve and Dino guided the team to further success culminating in the most successful season campaign in The Cooks history. Runners-Up in the UCFL Premier Division, Winners of the UCFL Knock Out Cup and Buckingham Charity Cup plus Runners-Up in the Daventry Charity Cup. In the Northants Senior Youth League, the club's Under-18's were not to be outdone by winning the League Knockout Cup and finishing Runners-Up in the League.

After a 3 year spell in charge Steve Forbes stepped down and former Cobblers & Rushden and Diamonds midfielder Aidy Mann took over team affairs. Aidys first season in charge saw the team finish a credible third.

Another former Northampton Town midfielder was appointed as First Team Manager. Adam Sandy took the hotseat and linked up with former Cooks legend Dino Cirelli to become his assistant. They finished the 2003/04 season in sixth place and Runners-Pp in the Daventry Charity Cup. Dino Cirelli retired at the end of the season.

In the following season, 2004/05, Dave Jones stepped up from Reserve Team Coach to assist Adam and the season became a very successful affair. The last game of the UCFL season finished with The Cooks playing Potton (1st vs 2nd) in a winner takes all game. Cogenhoe only required a draw to clinch our first UCFL title and the game ended 2-2 making sure the trophy came to Compton Park.

During the 2005/06 season, Cogenhoe acheived their best ever run in the FA Cup. The Cook's eventually lost in extra time, in a replay, to Chasetown 4-3.

In 2006/07, The Cooks equaled their best run in the FA Vase by going out to Causeway United, after extra time, in the fourth round. At the end of the season, the club announced the appointment of Darren Collins as 1st Team Manager as Adam Sandy resigned.

Where next?

Honours Cogenhoe United FC Roll of Honour: Champions: 1951-52 Central Northants Central Combination D

Video Advertising

Club sponsors