Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Birmingham & Solihull RFC app


Bees v Tonbridge Juddians RFC, 3.00pm KO, Saturday 27 April 2019

By Mike Podmore

Bees planning to end their adventure in NL2 South in style, with victory over high flying Tonbridge Juddians

Despite losing 38-24 at Rams RFC last time out, the Bees showed their mettle by outscoring their illustrious hosts by 17 points to 12 in the second half. They now plan to end their adventure in NL2 South on a high, with victory over third place Tonbridge Juddians.

Tonbridge Juddians have secured 115 points from 29 games, the same as fourth place Henley Hawks, but have won one more game. TJs have won 24, drawn 1 and lost 4. Their lack of bonus points (17), compared to Canterbury's (25), has cost them a place in the promotion play- off. Since losing rather surprisingly, 44-31, at London Irish Wild Geese on 5 January, TJs have won 12 games on the bounce, including a 25-19 home victory over Rams RFC.

In a closely fought contest at The Slade, Bees lost the earlier fixture between the two sides 22-19.

Tonbridge RFC was formed in 1904 and Old Juddians in 1928. As the name suggests, Old Juddians were former pupils of The Judd School in Tonbridge. The two clubs merged to form Tonbridge Juddians in 1999. TJs began life in London 2 South, eventually joining the national leagues in 2011. In 2017/18, they played Tier 4 Rugby for the first time in their short history, and secured an impressive sixth place finish in NL2 South.

Regarding team news, Pete Glackin is able to name a very strong Bees side. Matt Spink, Adam Clayton and Matt Dight return to the starting XV, with Ashley Scriven moving to openside flanker and Corey Venus to the right wing. The replacements are Alex Willis, Stewart Pearl, Keanan Cooper, Marcus Brown, Luke Smith. TR: Danny Wright.

Bees squad v Tonbridge Juddians RFC (Home, 3.00pm KO):- 1. Joe Foreman, 2. Zane Raimondi, 3. Nick Bingham, 4. Matt Spink, 5. Andrew Weaver, 6. Adam Clayton, 7. Ashley Scriven, 8. Umraan Jadwat, 9. Jack Jolly (c), 10. Harry O'Brien, 11. Matt Dight, 12. Nathan Tilsley, 13. Dan Kelly, 14. Corey Venus, 15. Ben Phillips,
16. Alex Willis, 17. Stewart Pearl, 18. Keanan Cooper, 19, Marcus Brown, 20. Luke Smith,
TR: Danny Wright


Updated 11:23 - 28 Apr 2019 by Richard Smith

Where next?

Bees 200 Club April 2019 Winners
Reminder - book your place at the club dinner NOW! Table or individual bookings available - cut off date 28th April


Loading comments

Sun 8 Sep
Colts Kings Norton
League 14:00
Sun 15 Sep
Colts Silhillians
League 14:00

News sponsors


Club sponsors