Nuneaton Old Edwardians was founded on the 18th February, 1910, initially to provide rugby football for the Old Boys of King Edward VI Grammar School.
The club went 'open' in 1955 welcoming players from all backgrounds and walks of life. The Grammar School closed in 1974 and is now a sixth form college. Currently the club regularly runs three sides on Saturday afternoons.
The First XV of the club is at present playing in the Midlands Two West (South) League. Players and committee alike are dedicated to improving the league status of the club by attracting new players to the club and improving the skills of existing players. Players train twice a week under the guidance of a fully qualified coach who has experience at the highest levels of the game.
Over the 100 odd years of the club's existence it has gained a reputation for friendliness off the field whilst retaining a healthy competitiveness on it. The club has been careful never to allow players to overstep the bounds of reasonable behaviour and for this reason the club enjoys an enviable reputation within Warwickshire. The Warwickshire Referees Society has awarded the club the 'Whistler' trophy 3 times in recent years. This trophy is presented to the club which, in the opinion of visiting referees, is the most pleasant to visit and referee.