After the Second World War, The Old Boys reformed in 1947 and following a public meeting at The Working Men's Club, entered the Leicestershire Senior League with immediate impact. They reached the semi-final of The Senior Cup but were beaten by Whitwick Colliery. The competition also included Leicester City Reserves.

In 1968/69 The Old Boys finished runners-up in Division 2 and were promoted to what was then Division 1. Managed by much respected local man Billy Williamson, they were also winners of The Loughborough Charity Cup and The Sileby Cup, (later renamed The Billy Williamson trophy in his honour). Soon after Barrow moved to their current headquarters at Riverside Park under the new title of Barrow Town.

The success of 68/69 was emulated by the team of 92/93 managed by two more local favourites Arthur Chadburn and Colin Sykes. This team gained promotion to the Premier Division as champions. The 94/95 season was a landmark in Barrow's history with a number of records being broken. Highest ever placings for the 1st and 2nd teams. Ian Hunter's haul of 61 league and cup goals. 119 goals scored, with an 18 game unbeaten run-in, culminating in being pipped to the Premiership title by one point. The team again consisted of the nucleus of the promotion winning side, under the same successful management team.

In recent years, the club has grown in stature and maintained their Premier Division status. Three times winners of The Loughborough Charity Cup, defeating Coalville 3-1 in 96/97, Ibstock 1-0 in 98/99 (the competition's centenary year), and under Richard Pitman defeating Shepshed Dynamo on penalties in 2000/1 after the teams were locked at 2-2 after extra time.

Riverside Park has undergone several improvements in recent years, most notably the addition of floodlighting for both the main pitch and training area; a new clubhouse and changing rooms; a 50 seater granstand; covered standing paddock; and new dugouts. The recent amalgamation of all junior, youth and senior teams, makes Barrow Town one of the largest football organisations in the county, that now caters for soccer from under eight to senior level.

Upcoming Fixtures

Latest Results

League Tables

East Midlands Counties League » Premier Division

1 Radford FC 30 62
2 Bardon Hill FC 28 61
3 St Andrews FC 29 60
4 Ellistown & Ibstock United FC 29 59
5 Blaby & Whetstone Athletic FC 28 57
6 Ashby Ivanhoe FC 30 56
7 Barrow Town FC 29 46
8 Holwell Sports FC 27 44
9 South Normanton Athletic FC 27 42
10 Kimberley Miners Welfare FC 28 39
11 Arnold Town FC 27 39
12 Gedling Miners Welfare FC 30 38
13 Holbrook Sports FC 27 37
14 Stapenhill FC 28 35
15 Borrowash Victoria FC 29 31
16 Anstey Nomads FC 27 29
17 Graham Street Prims FC 27 23
18 Radcliffe Olympic FC 28 18
19 Aylestone Park FC 27 11
20 Greenwood Meadows FC 25 7

Last updated Sunday 1st March, 18:10

Team Sponsors