Marine Football Club

Marine Football Club
Aricle Image

The Club celebrated its centenary in 1994 having been formed by a group of local businessmen and former college students – taking its name from the hotel on the River Mersey sea front at Waterloo, seven miles to the north of Liverpool – where the founders met. They moved to their present ground The Arriva Stadium (formerly known as Rossett Park) in 1903.

Marine quickly made an impression on local football, winning numerous titles in the I Zingari League and the Liverpool Combination. Their greatest success as an amateur team in this period culminated in an F.A. Amateur Cup Final appearance in 1931/32, when they lost 7 – 1 to Dulwich Hamlet in front of a 22,000 crowd at West Ham United. In 1946 they went close again by reaching the semi-final.

In 1935/36 they moved to the all-professional Lancashire Combination and enjoyed limited success before moving to the Cheshire County League in 1969/70. In 1972 Roly Howard was appointed first team manager and completed 1,975 competitive games over a 33 year period before retiring at the end of the 2004/05 season. He was recognised by the Guinness Book of Records as the longest serving manager in world football as Marine enjoyed its most successful period winning some 30 trophies.

The Club relinquished its amateur status and became professional in 1974. Three Cheshire League Championships were won in five seasons before progressing to the Northern Premier League in 1979/80. They have twice been Champions (1993/94 and 1994/95) as well as twice being runners-up and have won the League Cup on three occasions (1984/85, 1991/92, and 2002/03).

Marine began to challenge for honours again under Alvin McDonald as they qualified for the UniBond Premier play-offs in seasons 2005/06 and 2006/07, losing to the eventual winners on both occasions. In 2009, after a run of defeats and poor discipline, McDonald parted company with the club and Vice captain Kevin Lynch assisted by team mates Phil Brazier and Peter Cumiskey took temporary charge before being appointed on a permanent basis at the end of the season.

In his first full season at the helm (2009/2010) Kevin Lynch steadied the ship before steering Marine to a respectable ninth place and the team continued to show signs of improvement finishing in the top half, narrowly missing out on a play of place over the past few seasons.

At the end of the 2012/2013 season, Kevin and the club parted company on good terms and the club appointed assistant Phil Brazier as manager, with Peter Cumiskey returning to the club as his assistant and Robbie Lawton as player/coach.

Marine’s best performance in the F.A. Cup was reaching the 3rd Round in 1992/3 when they lost 3-1 to Crewe Alexandra. Marine have also achieved ten first and two second round appearances in the FA Cup and have beaten two Football League Clubs (Barnsley and Halifax Town) in the competition. Marine have twice reached the semi-finals of the F.A. Trophy in 1983/84 and 1991/92 and have been winners of 13 senior county cups.

Marine have won the Liverpool Senior Cup seven times (most recently in 2008) and the Lancashire Trophy Challenge Trophy three times (most recently in 1999/00).

More recently, the club have twice won the accolade as Football Foundation Community Club of the Year in 2009 and 2010, as voted by readers of the Non League Paper and in March 2011, the club were awarded the FA Charter Standard Community Club award by the Football Association. In 2010, the club were awarded Club of the Year by outgoing league sponsors UniBond.

The club are looking to make continuing improvements to their Arriva Stadium base, two years ago new floodlights were installed at a cost of £70,000 and further improvement over the next few years is planned, with planning consent received for a new 130 seater stand and snack kiosk to be located at the Crosender Road end of the Stadium to balance out spectator facilities, details can be found at

The Complete history of Marine FC is available in 'The Mighty Mariners', written by Club Historian & Past President David Wotherspoon - available from the Club Shop priced at only £10

Upcoming Fixtures

Latest Results

League Tables

The Evo-Stik League Northern Premier » Premier Division

1 Ashton United 0
2 Barwell 0
3 Belper Town 0
4 Blyth Spartans 0
5 Buxton 0
6 Curzon Ashton 0
7 FC United of Manchester 0
8 Frickley Athletic 0
9 Grantham Town 0
10 Halesowen Town 0
11 Ilkeston FC 0
12 Kings Lynn Town 0
13 Marine 0
14 Matlock Town 0
15 Nantwich Town 0
16 Ramsbottom United 0
17 Rushall Olympic 0
18 Skelmersdale United 0
19 Stamford 0
20 Stourbridge 0
21 Trafford 0
22 Whitby Town 0
23 Witton Albion 0
24 Workington 0

Last updated Monday 21st July, 17:45

Team Sponsors